Friday Food Ramblings

Yesterday was our wedding anniversary, though to be honest, we probably wouldn’t remember it if my mother didn’t give us a greeting card. For years we got used to celebrating the date we met as our anniversary, and it was hard to change that habit after we got married.

We didn’t want to celebrate with a big dinner, because we’d gone out the night before to see “The Rat Pack: Live at the Sands” at Pioneer Theater (very entertaining show, by the way!), and used the opportunity to have dinner at Aristo’s [warning – website has music] beforehand. It’s our favorite Greek restaurant, and Aristo is such a sweetie.

But on the other hand, I didn’t really feel like cooking, and didn’t have much food in the house anyway. We’d spent the day putting sealer on the driveway and garage (yes, my car is back on the street again), so I was kind of tired. The Pontiff volunteered to run down to another of our favorite restaurants, Shanghai Cafe (no website). They serve a large variety of Vietnamese and Chinese food, with lots of vegetarian options. He picked up a couple of our favorites – Vietnamese spring rolls and vegetarian “chicken” chow mein (made with seitan).

Vegetarian 'chicken' chow mein

Mmmmm, good! And splitting one entree with the appetizer of spring rolls is just perfect. Well, almost perfect. We still needed a little dessert. I was originally planning to make apple crisp, but decided instead to try Smitten Kitchen’s recipe for apple cake. Many years ago, my ex-MIL gave me a recipe for fresh apple cake that I really liked, but which I kept thinking needed “something”. The problem was, I didn’t know what the “something” was. The recipe from Smitten Kitchen is very, very similar, but uses more eggs, more flour, a bit of orange juice, and more cinnamon. I thought it was worth trying to see if I liked it better. And I definitely did. Those small changes really made the difference, and this is the recipe I’ll use from now on. Two thumbs up.

Apple Cake

And in case any of you need dairy-free products, or love coconut (or both), here’s something you might be interested in. I picked up a couple containers of So Delicious coconut-milk yogurts. They’re vegan, dairy-free, soy-free, and gluten-free.  I got plain and blueberry. I haven’t tried the blueberry yet, but the plain was quite tasty – sweet, and creamy, with a light taste of coconut. I’ll definitely buy this again.

Coconut 'yogurt'

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Friday Food Ramblings

  1. margene says:

    I was just wondering what else I could make with apples instead of apple crisp (which is a bit too sweet). Thanks for that recipe!

  2. margene says:

    Oh and Happy Anniversary!

  3. Nora says:

    MMm. I agree that apple crisp is too sweet, but everyone else at my house likes it!

  4. Cookie says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    Thanks for the link to the cake. A girl can only eat so much apple crisp.

  5. Norma says:

    WE SHARE AN ANNIVERSARY!!! Our 25th was yesterday. We’re not much for celebrations, either, but we are going to NY, ostensibly to celebrate with Abigail, though it’s just coincidence, mostly. Though the card David gave me is HILARIOUS and pretty much captures the me side of the equation.

    HE (an old man photo): “I’m feeling frisky. Want to get it on?” (I can’t remember the exact words, but along those lines)

    SHE (an old woman): “Go to hell.”

    INSIDE: “Another year of bliss. Happy Anniversary.” Hee.

  6. Miss T says:

    Happy Anniversary! We also tend to have do-whatever-we-feel-like anniversaries, regardless of what people are allegedly supposed to do.

  7. Chris says:

    Belated happy anniversary! Hmm, that So Delicious sounds very intriguing indeed – I’ll have to look for it at my co-op.

  8. Carrie K says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    Yum, cake. You could always make apple pie.

    What were those pictures about on the previous post? The ones of the windowsill? lol.

    That $595 cardigan is cute. I want it. I wonder if it would cost me $595 to knit it.

  9. Happy Anniversary! Ours is 10/9 as well! We’ve been married 15 years now, is that crazy or what? We’re celebrating with Date Night tonight. I hope you enjoyed your celebration as well.

  10. Anne says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    Thanks for the cake recipe – looks delish!!

  11. Dana says:

    Great tip on the coconut milk yogurt! We are dairy-free around here and miss yogurt immensely. Trader Joe’s soy yogurt is OK but this sounds better. Our local ice cream shop makes a coconut-milk raspberry sorbet that is to die for…

  12. Cayenne says:

    My mom & uncle went to the Rat Pack too. Sounds like a great show.

  13. Teresa C says:

    Hey! Happy Anniversary, I hope you have many more.

  14. Miriam says:

    Perfect Timing! I brought home another bunch of honey crisp apples and Apple Cake is C’s favorite, but I didn’t like the recipe I tried last time. I think this is the perfect treat to make for this week off.

    M

Leave a Reply

