Friday’s Flowers

I noticed that my Caryopteris was covered with bees the other day. I was glad to see it, since that’s why I planted it. Especially for the bumblebees, though there weren’t any around when I was taking photos.

I had several of these shrubs in front of my house when I lived in Sandy. In the mornings in the fall, I would go outside to see the bushes covered with bumblebees, which had slept on the bushes overnight and couldn’t fly because they were so wet with dew. It looked like the bushes were growing bumblebees. Once it warmed up and they dried out, they were off to fly about again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday’s Flowers

  1. Nora says:

    So pretty, and yay for the bees!

  2. Chris says:

    Oh, now I want to see a bumblebee bush!

  3. Carrie K says:

    You do know that bumblebees are being abducted by space aliens as the only intelligent life form from earth, right? Try not to get in the way of the beam. 🙂

  4. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    I just love the B-L-U-E of those flowers! It totally made my day – thanks!

  5. sil says:

    I’d never really thought about a bee’s sleeping habits. They sleep on flowers and such huh…

Leave a Reply

