Drops 103-16 Cardigan – Done!

Thanks to Margene, my personal photographer, I have some FO photos for you. And what better place for a photo shoot than Silver Lake? It was a gorgeous day, and the water was extremely still, so it was reflecting the trees and mountains like a mirror. Although I did take my camera, it turned out that the battery I put in it right before leaving hadn’t been charged. So I wasn’t able to get any photos of the fantastic reflection shots for myself, but Margene will certainly have some beautiful ones. You can get a glimpse of how gorgeous it was in these photos.

Drops 103-16

Drops 103-16

Pattern: Drops 103-16 Jacket with Rib in Karisma (Ravelry project here)
Yarn: Drops Karisma by Garnstudio, color 1021, 11 skeins (1320 yds)
Needles: 3.75 mm (US 5)
Buttons: La Mode style 20971
Size: S
Modifications: None

Since I wanted a slightly smaller size, I used a smaller needle to get a slightly tighter gauge. I used almost every bit of 11 skeins of yarn (the pattern called for 12). My swatches had been done with a different skein, so I would definitely suggest 12 skeins for this size, especially if knit at the specified gauge.

I really love the way this turned out. I like the tailored jacket-style look, but it’s lightweight enough for indoor wear, too. The ribbing gives the body shape, without having to do any knitted shaping. The buttons I found are perfect – they have a little gray in them that echos the yarn and the curve of the stitches.

The swatches told me that the pieces would grow with blocking, but until I actually had it blocked and seamed and tried it on, I was a little worried about it being too small. But it came out just right – I have no problem putting it on over a long-sleeved turtleneck.

The sleeves are worked in the round in reverse stockinette with a little ribbing at the outside edge. Since I didn’t want to have to do that much purling, I decided to just knit the sleeves inside-out. It worked great, and definitely cut down the knitting time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Drops 103-16 Cardigan – Done!

  1. It really looks fantastic!!! πŸ˜‰

  2. Nora says:

    Beautiful!

  3. margene says:

    I love this sweater/jacket! It’s truly classic and beautiful! Nicely done!

  4. Cayenne says:

    Lovely sweater. It looks very comfortable. I love that beautiful lake too.

  5. Anne says:

    Wonderful! It is gorgeous on you – that’ll be a wardrobe staple, I’d bet on it!

  6. Nice work! You have such a great eye for patterns that suit you, which complements your mad knitting skills.

  7. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    Very nice indeed! And I love the “inside-out” stitching of the sleeves. Clever you!

  8. Cookie says:

    Beautiful!

    Oh, and the sweater/jacket is nice, too.

  9. Anne B. says:

    Pretty close to perfection there! I won’t call it perfect and tempt the knitting gods to send us bad gauge however!

  10. Carrie K says:

    Gorgeous!

    The sweater too. πŸ™‚

  11. Chris says:

    Another fabulous knit! And how could that combination of model, photographer, and location go wrong?

  12. sil says:

    That looks awesome! I must put that on my to do list. Great mods too. That Margene has so many talents.

  13. elizabeth says:

    I cleaned off my buffet this weekend and ran across that pattern – I’d printed it some time ago. Yours looks great!

  14. Sonja Poor says:

    Great looking sweater! Nice job.

  15. Kim says:

    Wow….what a beautiful job you did on this sweater!!

Leave a Reply

