WIP and RIP?

I had a little chuckle to myself the other day. I was thinking about all of the photos from Rhinebeck and other fiber festivals, and it occurred to me that knitters are probably the only women who are excited to run into other women dressed in the same outfit.

Heh.

Well, on to the WIPs. Please excuse the awful late-night flash-ridden photos. First, the good news – I have one inner mitten completed for the Dimorphous mittens!

Dimorphous Mittens

And now for the bad… You know that knitters trick of knitting faster and faster to keep from running out of yarn? I’ve been working furiously through the border of the Alpine Lace Scarf, but it isn’t looking good. I still have one more repeat in the border, plus the ending garter stitch rows. And my remaining yarn is diminishing rapidly.  I think I need a little more than 3 grams to finish, and I have 2.9 grams left. So, do I spend another couple of hours working on the last repeat and hope for a miracle, or do I rip back and eliminate one repeat of the body? See the safety pin in the lace – just above center in the photo? That’s how far I’d have to rip back. About 6 inches, and about 10 hours of work. At least I put in a lifeline, knowing that I might have been a bit optimistic in my planning. Woe.

Alpine Lace Scarf

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to WIP and RIP?

  1. margene says:

    Couldn’t the edging be just a tiny bit smaller to accommodate your yarnage?
    You’re so right about Rhinbeck! Everyone had on either FLS or Wysteria!

  2. Can you maybe just order one more ball of yarn?

  3. Stacey says:

    Crapola! I say eliminate a border repeat. Any chance of finding the same yarn?

  4. Cookie says:

    Poop.

    Can you get more yarn? Can you do one less garter ridge on the border? Could you be happy with it if it was one repeat shorter? I think that’s the real question at this point.

  5. Cayenne says:

    I have no advice, but I think that lace scarf is so pretty.

Leave a Reply

