And the decision is…

No, I’m not talking about today’s vote. You’ll have to wait a little longer for that decision.

I decided to rip the scarf back and eliminate one repeat of the center border. First I tried knitting more to see if I could get away with 2 1/2 repeats of the diamond border, then finish with the garter border. But when I got to the end of 2 1/2 repeats, I could see that I would probably only be able to do half the garter border. I decided that just wasn’t going to cut it.

The yarn was from handpaintedyarn.com, and although they do have some in stock in the same colorway, it’s kettle dyed and there are no dye lots, so even if I ordered more, it could be quite different from the skein I have. Plus I’d have to wait for it.

So ripped it was. And let me tell you – trying to pick up those stitches in laceweight yarn, even with a lifeline (which was just heavy quilting thread) was no picnic. But I’ve redone the transition and the first diamond repeat, so there are just two more diamond repeats and the edging to go. Fortunately (?!) I was feeling really crappy yesterday, and couldn’t get up and move around without feeling sick, so all I could do was recline and knit, which gave me the time to rip it all out and reknit about a third of what needed to be done. (Weird when it’s almost a good thing to be sick…) I’m feeling fine today, though, so I guess it was just some weird 24-hour thing.

At least there was one good thing yesterday – I got my lovely new Beaverslide yarn for my next cardigan project. It’s Lichen Frost – sort of a light grayish green:

Beaverslide - Lichen Frost

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And the decision is…

  1. margene says:

    Sorry for your loss. Glad you’re feeling better. Love your Beaverslide. It’s short and sweet sentence day. 😉

  2. Cookie says:

    I’m sorry you had a rough Monday, but I am glad you got so much done on your Alpine Lace. It will be totally worth it.

    Loving that new yarn!

  3. Lani says:

    oh oh! I’ve wanted to try beaverside!! How is it? Is it scratchy? Fluffy??

    Sorry to hear about the rippage and the illness. I hope you’re feeling much better today!

  4. Chris says:

    Glad you’re feeling better today and that you’ve dealt with the rippng out.

  5. Nora says:

    A true Monday – I’m glad it’s over!

  6. Anne says:

    Glad you were able to get some knitting time in, even if you weren’t feeling well.

    I absolutely adore that color of your Beaverslide Dry Goods yarn!!

Leave a Reply

