More Yum, and Randomness

I have more food for you today, but first, take a peek at these socks I read about on Ravelry. I had to order a pair.

Yesterday while I was at Costco, I decided to find something for dinner that would be quick. Usually I buy fresh fish for Sunday dinner, but I didn’t really feel like cooking it, as I was going to be busy all day. I spied a package of Butternut Squash Ravioli, and my heart went pitter-pat. Into the cart they went, without much thought as to how I’d serve them.

While I was at SnB later that day, I was telling Eliza that I’d be making them for dinner. When she asked if I was going to do a sauce, I said I figured I’d just grab a jar out of the pantry – I knew I had some marinara, and maybe some Alfredo sauce. And there was some home-made pesto sauce in the freezer. But really, none of those sounded right. As we were talking, it occurred to me to just do a butter sauce with fresh sage. And maybe walnuts. Brilliant! So that’s what I did.

While the water was heating up for the pasta, I picked and chopped a handful of fresh sage leaves, chopped up another handful of walnuts, and grated some Parmesan cheese. When the ravioli went in the water, I heated up a big blob of butter in a skillet, then added the sage and walnuts, stirring it all around until nicely browned. By then the pasta was done, so I drained it, put some on each plate, drizzled the sauce over, and then topped it with the cheese.

Simple, elegant, and oh-so-delicious.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to More Yum, and Randomness

  1. margene says:

    That sounds like something I could do! In fact I have had that very dish in a couple of very fine restaurants. You are brilliant.

  2. Amy says:

    Butter and sage makes an excellent sauce!

  3. Nora says:

    Oh, I bet that smelled extra delicious!

  4. Miriam says:

    I bought the ravioli in a heartbeat too! and had the same dilemma about sauce. I’m not a fan of walnuts, but I think a basic cream sauce will be lovely on them.

    M

  5. Lauren says:

    That sounds soooo good!

  6. debbie says:

    I love that pasta! So sweet and yummy. I usually serve it with a light smear of light alfredo sauce — nothing to overpower the sweet butternut squash taste. Now I’m hungry, damn your hide!

  7. Carrie K says:

    That does sound delicious.

    Those socks are cute! My mother found me a pair of socks with directions for knitting a sock on them, a few years back when I first started to knit.

  8. Stacey says:

    MMmmmmm… I’m thinking we need to work on that transporter thingy. 😀

Leave a Reply

