FO: Multi-Function Pot Tea Cozy

A few years ago I got a couple of these “Multi Function Pots” at the dollar store. How could I resist? They’re the tea pots I use most often, since they’re just right for one person – they only hold 16 oz. I’ve never quite figured out what the “multi functions” are. I guess I can brew my tea with or without the infuser (oops – not shown in the photo). But that would only be dual-function.

Multi-Function Pot

I thought it might be difficult to find a pattern for a cozy for such a small teapot, and figured I’d probably have to downsize one. But then I found this pattern, which sounded like it would be just the right size. And it was!

Multi-Function Pot Cozy

I’m showing the pot next to a 16-oz mug, so you can see how small it is.

The pattern calls for a small amount of DK wool, and I didn’t have a lot of remnants in that weight, but I did find something.

I’m not wild about the yarn colors for a tea cozy, but it’s functional. And now that I know it’s a good fit, I can make another for the other pot, and maybe eventually replace this one with something prettier.

Pattern: Mistake Rib Tea Cosy by Frankie Brown
Ravelry: Project Page
Yarn: Remnants of Interlacements Cheyenne. (Ravelry and Yarndex call this fingering, but it said DK when I bought it, and it’s twice as thick as the Louet Gems on my desk, and even thicker than the Lang Merino DK also sitting on my desk, so they lie. It’s 11 WPI.)Β  I weighed the cozy when I was done, and I used 20 grams of yarn.
Needles: 3.75mm (US 5)
Modifications: None

On the spout side, I seamed down 1/2″ at the top, left a gap of about 2″ for the spout, and then seamed to the bottom. On the handle side, I seamed the top 1″, and the bottom 3/4″.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to FO: Multi-Function Pot Tea Cozy

  1. margene says:

    It’s very cute and not a bad color for a cozy. It works and that’s the important thing.

  2. Chris says:

    And here I was thinking how fun that cozy was, with its crazy colors. πŸ™‚

  3. Kim says:

    What an adorable little tea cozy! The colors are fun πŸ™‚

  4. Nora says:

    Cute!

    I need a mug cozy, myself.

    xo

  5. Cute cozy!

    I don’t know how multi-functional the pot itself is, but I do remember seeing a recipe book about how you can cook in a coffeepot. Mr. S-n-S survived in Taiwan cooking all sorts of things that weren’t rice in his rice cooker! πŸ™‚

  6. Cookie says:

    So cute!

    I’m sure you could heat other things in it besides water. Maybe that’s how it’s a multi-function pot.

  7. Stacey says:

    Cute cozy… but I want the tea pot. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

