FO: Salina

I haven’t put buttons on yet – if I wait until after the first of the year, can I count this as my first FO for NaKniSweMoDo? (Just kidding.)

Salina

I used exactly 5 skeins of yarn. Here’s what’s left:

Salina remnants

Fortunately, I had another 3 skeins of the yarn, so I wasn’t worried. There’s probably even enough left here in these pieces to sew on the buttons.

Pattern: Salina by Kim Hargreaves, from Vintage Knits.
Ravelry: Project Page
Yarn: Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool, color 53, 5 skeins (exactly!)
Needles: US 5 / 3.75 mm
Size: Small

Modifications: I followed the instructions for the size XS sleeves since they seemed pretty loose, and I’m happy with how they turned out. My arms are long, so I added 1″ to the sleeves (they’re still bracelet length on me), and I also added 1/2″ to the collar.

I’m very pleased with it! I’m still planning to make a plain, funnel-neck pullover from the blue Silky Wool I bought, and I’m thinking that I’ll just follow what I did on this one for the body size and shaping, but modify it for a funnel neck instead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to FO: Salina

  1. Stacey says:

    Another beautiful sweater! THat’s the color I bought to start it all. As soon as I finish my mitts and hat, oh… and find my swift and ball winder… I’ll start the Logan River Wrap with it. I’m still staying away from the whole sweater thing… just so I don’t get sucked into the madness. 😀

    Happy Friday Cheryl! xoxo

  2. Laurie says:

    That’s perfect! Great great fit. And what a high wire act that remaining yarn looks like.

  3. Norma says:

    Yay! And I’m very glad to know about 5 skeins, since I have six. It’s amazing how far that yarn goes. Farther than it looks like it will, huh?!

    Love it, and mine is going to be exactly like yours. (Did you lengthen the body?)

  4. Anne says:

    Lovely! That pattern looks great on you – and a nice use of Silky Wool too.

  5. Carrie says:

    LMAO – you can tell I have a little kid around – I was skimming the pictures and thought, “Well, I’m not the only one whose kid draws with markers on the piano.”
    Pretty sweater. Does it really need buttons?

  6. Cookie says:

    Very pretty!

    Does it really need buttons? I like it as is. Of course, I’m totally clueless, but still…

    xo

  7. Chris says:

    Yet another gorgeous and flattering sweater! 🙂

  8. Cayenne says:

    I like the color. Very season-appropiate and flattering on you to boot!

  9. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    Love! I have to say, I like it without the buttons, too. It’s very nice, and I am looking forward to the funnel-neck pullover, too. Have a fun weekend!

  10. Carrie K says:

    How many buttons? It’s really cute! Yikes, that’s all the yarn that was left? I’d be panicking through the last few inches.

    A funnel neck with the same dimensions would look just as good, I’m sure.

  11. Nora says:

    Gorgeous – the fit is perfect! And as you know, I’m slightly obsessed with fit at the moment.

    I gotta get me some of that silky wool – 5 skeins?? Wow.

  12. margene says:

    It looks fabulous! Isn’t a great sweater. I love wearing mine made with Silky Wool, too.

  13. Lani says:

    Gorgeous!! I’m thinking of Silky Wool for my next sweater… just not sure what sweater yet! 😉

Leave a Reply

