FO: Autumn Tea Cozy

Autumn Tea Cozy

Since I had a single skein of Noro Kureyon sitting in my stash, I decided to jump on the Autumn Tea Cozy bandwagon. And I discovered that I really liked the Kureyon. I’d definitely consider some sort of cardigan made from it, like this EPS Cardigan or this Debbie Bliss one. However, I don’t think I want to spend $150 for the Debbie Bliss Noro Collection #1 booklet, so that’s probably out, unless I come up with my own pattern.

Pattern: Autumn Tea Cozy by aemmeleia
Ravelry: Pattern Page, Project Page
Yarn: Noro Kureyon, color 172, 1 skein
Needles: 5 mm (US 8)
Size: One size (for approximately 1-quart teapot)
Modifications: None really, although I only needed to knit 1″ after the hem before splitting for the handle. Since the spout of my teapot is quite chunky, I probably could have made the spout opening larger so that it would fit a little more nicely, but it’s probably warmer this way anyway.

I’m a loose knitter, and I still had enough yarn left over to make several more leaves if I wanted to. The remaining amount of yarn starts looking pretty scary when you get to the decreases, so I was surprised that I had as much left over as I did, instead of running out. I figured I could always do the leaves with some other yarn if I had to. I do wish that the leaves were a different color from the top of the cozy for more contrast, but all of the remaining yarn was pretty much the same.

And while we’re on the subject of tea, I finally got myself over to the Tea Grotto. I’ve visited their booth at the Farmer’s Market before, but hadn’t gotten around to visiting the shop. I bought a couple types of tea, this nice tea cannister (refillable at 10% off the packaged tea prices), and a new infuser. The Gunpowder Green tea was a nice accompaniment to my gingerbread muffin.

Tea

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to FO: Autumn Tea Cozy

  1. Lauren says:

    That looks like a great cardigan with the Noro, but yeah, $150 is too much for a pattern book.

  2. Carrie says:

    I looked at that pattern you linked to, and it looks to me like pretty simple construction. I bet you could work it out on your own and not shell out the $150.

  3. Stacey says:

    I love it! I seriously need to get a tea pot. I have the inginui-tea. I love adagio teas. That’s where I get mine. The eggnog blend this year is wonderful… especially with a shot of drambuie in it.

    Happy Sunday!

    p.s. if you haven’t tried adagio, let me know. They let you send free $5 gift certificates

  4. Nora says:

    That is just incredibly cute.

    I’m going to make an EPS as my next adventure…

  5. Chris says:

    Nice! Hmm… I have a bag of Kureyon I’m trying to decide whether to sell or not. Oranges and pinks…

    I also have Jane Ellison’s Noro: Knits book – have you looked at the patterns from that? Maybe Eloise? Or York? Knitty’s Rosedale is pretty cool, too, although I confess to making it without the intarsia insert.

  6. margene says:

    You cozy is very cute. The Tea Grotto is SO lovely.

  7. caroline says:

    I have that book, so if you do decide to knit that sweater, let me know and I’ll loan the book to you. thanks for mentioning the Tea Grotto, too. I’m still learning my way around SLC and am always up for a new nice tea room!

Leave a Reply

