FO: Woodland Scarf

Looks more like the ocean to me.

Woodland Scarf

Pattern: Woodland Shawl, a free pattern by Nikol Lohr
On Ravelry: Pattern page, Project page
Yarn: Sleeping Dragon Handpainted Sock Yarn, colorway “Pool”, 1 skein
Needles: 4 mm (US 6)
Modifications: Only cast on 65 stitches as I wanted a wide scarf rather than a short shawl.

Finished dimensions are about 10.5″ wide and 48″ long.

This was a great travel/carry-around project, because it was an easy lace pattern to memorize and knit.

Even though there’s clearly a right and wrong side, the wrong side is pretty, too.

I like the scalloped edges along the sides of the scarf, although they don’t really stay blocked out very well in this soft merino yarn. But it’s very soft and pretty, so I don’t mind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to FO: Woodland Scarf

  1. Carrie says:

    Wow, pretty! But it looks like peacock butts to me.

  2. Cookie says:

    That is really lovely. You find the best patterns and yarns to work with.

  3. margene says:

    It’s truly gorgeous after being blocked out! Very nice!!

  4. Anne B. says:

    Wow, that is beautiful, and from only one skein, cool.

  5. Lani says:

    Gorgeous! It does look like the ocean… so calm, so soothing… 🙂

  6. Carole says:

    Oooh, that’s so pretty! Beautifully done, Cheryl.

  7. Chris says:

    Or like the sky… lovely!

  8. Stacey says:

    Beeeee-U-TEEE-ful! I’ve looked at that several times and I think it’s been on and off my queue more times than I can count. It does look ocean-y. I bet I can find some pretty autumnal themed yarn in my stash for it. Hmmmmm… maybe silky wool?

    😀

  9. Carrie K says:

    It does look ocean-y. And forest-y. And now, thanks to Carrie, pecock butt-y.

    But mostly prett-y.

  10. Lauren says:

    That is so pretty! I’m in love with that color.

  11. Nora says:

    Awesome! What a fun scarf to wear!

  12. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    That’s perfect! I’ve been looking for a shawl pattern to do with some sock yarn I scored – thanks for the pattern idea!

  13. Really, really pretty! 🙂

  14. Heather Joins The Round says:

    It’s lovely! The wrong side looks really cool, I’m glad you photographed it that way.

  15. Laurie says:

    That is a stunning scarf. Good match of yarn and pattern and colorway.

Leave a Reply

