From Cold to Hot

No, not the weather, unfortunately. It’s still darn cold here.

A couple of days ago I showed you my fireplace – one of my favorite things about my house. This is another heat-related item in the house, but it’s one of my least favorites.

A sauna. A big one – 6.5 x 7.5 feet, in perfect working condition. With sun lamps on a timer. Yes, my house is very unusual. To say the least.

Sauna

There are probably some of you who’d be thrilled to have a sauna in your house. I, however, am not a sauna person. Nor is my husband. So it’s only been used a couple of times in the last 10 years.

To me, it’s just a waste of space. It’s even bigger than the bathroom next to it, which is only 6×6. I’d much rather have a larger bathroom. Or a walk-in closet.

I couldn’t really even use it to store stuff, because it’s upstairs and we didn’t keep the air conditioner going up there in the summer. The entire upper floor would get well over 100 degrees in summer – and even hotter in the insulated sauna. You could pretty much use the sauna without even turning it on. Anything in there would just bake. But now that we’re home pretty much all the time, we keep the air conditioning on all the time during hot weather. It actually didn’t make any difference in our electricity bills, since now the air conditioner just works to keep the upstairs at a fairly even temperature, instead of having to run constantly for hours to cool off a very hot space.

Now that temperature isn’t a problem, I figure it’s time to make use of it. We don’t want to remodel right now, so I don’t want to change it, just use the space. Since the sauna is in our master bedroom suite (well, technically it’s a mother-in-law apartment, but we use it as a master bedroom), and there’s very little closet space, I’ve always kept my clothes in the main floor guest bedroom. But now we’re going to put closet rods in the sauna so I can move my clothes up there. And my dresser will get moved upstairs too. Then maybe I can make better use of the guest bedroom, like using it for my stash.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to From Cold to Hot

  1. margene says:

    Smart move! πŸ˜‰

  2. Nora says:

    Sweet! I like a nice sauna, but I tend to agree that I wouldn’t really want one in my house. Some people I know have one attached to their garage. That works out well – especially for streaking from sauna to house afterward!

    xo

  3. Chris says:

    I like it – hang up your wrinkly clothes and steam ’em. πŸ˜‰

  4. sil says:

    That is rather odd to have a sauna in the house. I think those benches would make nice shoe racks πŸ™‚

  5. Laurie says:

    Makes sense. I don’t use energy sucking things like that either. I have never used my jacuzzi style tub. 50 gallons of water at a crack!

    Closet makes sense. Probably mothproof.

  6. Lani says:

    Hmmm… interesting! I like saunas, but I can’t even imagine how much $$ that might add to the electricity bill if it was used on a regular basis. Good thing you can use it for a closet! I bet the benches would make a great place to put on your shoes.

  7. Heather Joins The Round says:

    Looks like a great place to store shoes, etc–built-in shelving! Also, drying racks for knitwear, built in!

    Looks like I am not the first with the shoe idea.

  8. Anne B. says:

    I am intensively jealous that you have a sauna as I absolutely love them and would love to have one in my house. These things are pretty expensive, would you be able to sell it and make enough money to finance a fancy walk-in closet?

  9. debbie says:

    I agree with Anne. Now, what was your address again? πŸ™‚

  10. Carrie K says:

    Oh, I like Chris’s idea. No more wrinkles! Possibly a wee bit of mold. πŸ™‚

    A sauna/closet. That’s something you don’t see everyday.

  11. carla says:

    i have a Finnish father-in-law who would like to hang out in your house. He’ll bring the birch branches.

    FWIW, his saunas have always been in the house, usually near the mud room.

Leave a Reply

