In Love with a Drunken Goat

No, not a real goat. Sheesh.

But I do have a new love. Drunken Goat cheese. I picked up a chunk of this at Whole Foods the other day. It’s from Spain, and is semi-soft and very mild. The name comes from the fact that the cheese is soaked in wine for a few days, giving it a beautiful violet rind. This cheese is so wonderful, it’s a shame to do anything with it other than just slice it and put it directly in your mouth.  Although this quesadilla with Drunken Goat cheese and arugula does sound pretty darn good. I wonder if any of my arugula is still alive under all that snow.

Drunken Goat cheese

We also got some Cypress Grove Chevre “Midnight Moon”. The cheese lady at the store was cutting up a big wheel, and said if we liked the Drunken Goat cheese, we’d probably like the Midnight Moon, too. She cut a couple of slices for us, and it was wonderful. It’s firmer than the Drunken Goat, and a bit saltier, but still very mild. It’s a gouda-style cheese, with a black wax coating. The cheese lady said she likes to use it instead of Parmesan, and I can see why.

Neither of these cheeses has the sharp tang that most people associate with a goat cheese, and in fact, I might not even realize they were goat cheeses if someone just served them to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In Love with a Drunken Goat

  1. Cookie says:

    Sounds yummy! I can only handle so much goat cheese because of that goatiness.

    I wonder if Trader Joe carries it.

  2. Chris says:

    That is a favorite of mine, too. If Shepherd’s Way is ever able to resume production of their sheep cheese and get back in to national markets, their Quesa Fresca with garlic is amazing.

  3. Nora says:

    OK, it’s before 6:00 a.m. here and I’m thinking about quesedillas.

    xo

  4. Lani says:

    *drools* I love goat cheese. I’m going to have to see if I can find either of those here and try them out! Thanks for the recommendation!

  5. margene says:

    I’m gong to Whole Foods tomorrow! Sounds yummy!

  6. Heather Joins The Round says:

    Mmmmmm, I’ll try it out next time I’m somewhere they sell good cheese.

    Me, I like the sharp tang.

  7. elizabeth says:

    Mmmmm….cheese! I love goat cheese. Every xmas my mil gives us a box of wonderful pears and we make pear sandwiches – toasted whole grain bread (has to be hearty bread), spring greens, toasted walnuts, sliced pears and goat cheese (although havarti is excellent, too). Yum!

Leave a Reply

