WIP Wednesday

The good, the bad, and the ugly.

First, the good – I’ve gotten started on the Holly and Poinsettia mittens, and although I had to rip out my first start at the cuff because of gauge problems, I think this one will be OK. I didn’t bother to swatch, because I’d have to swatch in the round, so the cuff itself might as well be the swatch. On the first try, I was knitting with one strand of color in each hand – but it came out way too tight, and I’d never get it over my hand. Plus I found it very fiddly to work with DPNs when I had yarn in my right hand. So I went back to having both strands in the left hand. The gauge is much better, and it’s easier to manipulate the DPNs. The cuff still seems kind of small, but at least I can get it over my hand.

Holly and Poinsettia mittens

Now for the bad. My cabled cardigan. I was almost finished with one of the fronts. Do you see the problem?

Aran Cardigan

I didn’t knit enough rows on the front before starting the armhole. It doesn’t look so bad in the photo, but that’s because I’d previously blocked the lower part of the back piece to check my gauge, which shortened it a bit. There’s actually a whole cable of difference.  I had put the wrong number of repeats down on my notes. So now I’ll have to rip it back to the beginning of the armhole. This is AFTER ripping out the bottom 4 inches that I first knitted, because I didn’t like how the knitted-in button band was looking. I started over without the front band, and will add it later.

I actually don’t mind having to reknit it, but I’d hoped to have this cardi done by the end of the year so I could start fresh with a new sweater next year, but it doesn’t look like that’s going to happen.

And the ugly? Well, it’s not really ugly. It’s just hibernating. It’s the Myrtle Leaf Shawl. I don’t really enjoy working on it because it’s hard to see (nearly-black yarn), and the yarn is really slippery. Switching to my Boye interchangeable needles helped with the slippage, but the bend in the cable ends makes it hard to slide the stitches around. I wanted to have it done for my cruise in March, but I think that’s a lost cause. I’m not even bothering with a new photo, because it’s hiding and besides, it wouldn’t look much different from the photo on Ravelry.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to WIP Wednesday

  1. Cookie says:

    I hope that mitten fits because it’s looking lovely. I’m sorry about the cardi. At least, you caught it when you did. I feel you on the shawl. I love the way it looks and want to knit it, but, looking at the pattern, I don’t really want to knit it. Ya know?

    xo

  2. Carrie K says:

    The mitten is coming along nicely! I generally make my gauge swatches out of sleeves or the prototype myself.

    Bummer about the cardi.

  3. Chris says:

    I took a class on holding both colors in the left hand and I think that, should I do colorwork again, that’s the way I’d do it.

    Bummer about the cabled sweater…

  4. margene says:

    Maybe you should invest in an Addi Lace needle to help you with Myrtle. She would be a lovely cruise companion.
    You could still be finished by the end of the year if you didn’t sleep. 😉

  5. Heather Joins The Round says:

    Cute mittens!

  6. Nora says:

    Love those mittens. Sorry about the cardi – grrrr!!! Hopefully you’ll get back to where you want to be quickly.

  7. Stacey says:

    The mittens are lovely. I was tempted when I saw them at Anne’s. I’m with Margene on the changing of the needles. I had a set of Boye’s and gave up on them. Happy Thursday!

  8. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    Sorry to hear about the cardi – I just realized yesterday I’ve got to rip the sleeve of my mom’s sweater-jacket (you know, her Christmas gift) because I picked up the wrong dpns for the majority of the sleeve. Sigh. It’s only being difficult because I said how much I dislike the color, though it is perfect for Mom.

    At least you have pretty mitts! Love them, and I know you’ll love wearing them.

  9. Anne B. says:

    Oh well, at least you gets lots of practice making the cardigan! We all loooove extra practice. Those mittens are going to keep your hands toasty warm!

  10. Lani says:

    Hee! I’m doing colorwork mittens too!! 🙂 Mine aren’t looking near as lovely as yours though. Sorry to hear about the “bad” and “ugly” too… rippage always stinks.

Leave a Reply

