Transformation

I’ve finally put the 50 square feet of sauna to much better use. We didn’t dismantle anything, so it’s still perfectly functional if we ever want it to be a sauna again. But in the meantime, it’s much more useful as a walk-in closet and dressing room. All it took was a couple of closet rods, some shoe racks, and some storage drawers.

The benches are great, because I can sit on them to put on shoes and socks, and there’s plenty of space in the entry for dressing. There was already a full-length mirror on the wall opposite the sauna door, which is very handy. There’s no place for full-length clothes like dresses, but I didn’t have any space for those in the closet I was using anyway – they’re stored in the office closet.

So go ahead and have a peek in my new closet. Pictures can be embiggened if you want.

This is straight ahead into the closet.

Closet

On the left side, there are two benches.Above the top bench are the hanging clothes and a storage drawer. Between the two benches are more storage drawers.

Closet

And more shoes between the lower bench and the floor.

Closet

I’m really happy with my new space. It’s much more convenient to have my clothes in the bedroom instead of in the guest bedroom. The abandoned space in the guest bedroom is now going to be storage for my yarn.

And guests might actually have a little bit of closet space to use, too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Transformation

  1. Cookie says:

    Yay!

    Wonderful use of that space. Will there be shoe shopping to celebrate? ;^)

    xo

  2. Chris says:

    I’m drooling over having that much closet space – lucky you!!

  3. Stacey says:

    Nice transformation! Once you get the yarn put up, are you going to share that too?

  4. Chris says:

    You said sauna, I thought hot tub. Wondered why you wanted your clothes in a room detached from your house and full of windows, ha ha!

    The sauna closet looks awesome!

  5. Carole says:

    That’s a great use for the sauna!

  6. Nora says:

    I’ve got serious closet envy.

  7. Norma says:

    What a GREAT and simple transformation with huge impact!

  8. margene says:

    Nicely done! That’s a closet to love.

  9. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    Clever, clever woman! Of course, we tend to be more clever than men when it comes to closet-space anyway. You, however, have just earned my creative-use-of-space award. I’d mail it, but I can’t find it in all the clutter. (And I would SO like to be joking about that.)

Leave a Reply

