FO: French Aran Cardigan

Technically, it’s not quite finished since it still needs buttons or clasps. And only parts of it have been blocked. But I’m still considering it my final FO for 2008, finished on New Year’s Eve.

I’m lucky to get any finished modeled shots at all, so even though these aren’t great, they’re all you’re likely to get for a while.

I’m thinking about pewter buttons or clasps, though I do have some reddish-brown buttons that would also work.

French Aran Cardigan

French Aran Cardigan

Pattern: 654 Veste Femme (Veste irlandaise), by Bergère de France.
Yarn: Beaverslide Dry Goods Worsted, color “Lichen Frost”, 5 skeins
Needles: US 8/5mm (US 7/4.5mm for ribbing)
Ravelry: Pattern page, my project page

Modifications: Increased the length of both the body and sleeves. The pattern called for knitting the button bands in 1×1 rib as you knit the body. I started it that way, but wasn’t sure I liked how it was turning out, so I ripped it out and just knit the body without the button bands, and added garter stitch bands after adding the collar.

If I were making it again, I’d probably make it another inch longer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to FO: French Aran Cardigan

  1. Chris says:

    It turned out great!

  2. Carrie says:

    It’s beautiful! Nice work, and thanks for the translation.

  3. margene says:

    VERY nice! You’ll love wearing that this winter.

  4. Norma says:

    Very very pretty. Another highly wearable cardigan. If you have too many, you could unload it in this direction. Even my husband has begun to think I’ve been wearing my CPnoH too often. Heh.

  5. Lauren says:

    It looks great!!

  6. Anne says:

    Wow! Way to send out the old year with an FO. LOVE the color!!

  7. Stacey says:

    Lovely! I think the button bands turned out wonderful. How is the NaKniSweMoDo going?

  8. Judy says:

    It is wonderful. That is one great finished object.

  9. Heather Joins The Round says:

    I love the garter button bands. I think pewter clasps would look awesome, too. Nice work.

  10. Kim says:

    Wow Cheryl – it’s beautiful!

  11. Nora says:

    It’s beautiful, Cheryl. Another wonderful FO!

  12. merete says:

    it is stunningly beautiful. and i know the colour is too. i got some for my friend and she knitted martin storey’s: dundee which is another cabled cardi. the cables pop so well.

  13. Laurie says:

    Nice. I like what the Beaverslide does for cables, and seeing Lichen Frost is pretty cool.

  14. Carrie K says:

    Already? I am too jealous to tell you how cute that cardigan is. 😉

  15. Brenda says:

    Well done! That turned out really well–the cables look fantastic in that yarn.

Leave a Reply

