The Sleeve

I seamed the sleeve to the armhole last night, and I’m very happy with how it turned out. No ugly short rows, and no gaps from picking up stitches.

Mock Turtleneck - sleeve seam

And on a totally unrelated note, now that I’m turning the downstairs guest room into a guest room/fiber storage room instead of my closet and dressing room, I’ve replaced the futon with a queen-sized bed. Of course, since it’s a tiny bedroom, the bed takes up almost the entire room. (The room’s only 8 x 10′ – I used to have a TENT that size.) But it’s nice to be able to offer guests a queen-size bed instead of the full-size futon. The closet that used to hold my clothes is now the repository for my yarn stash.

bed

I wanted a headboard, but no footboard, since the room is so tiny. You’re pretty much seeing the whole room in the photo, except for a bookshelf on the wall across from the foot of the bed. Given our finances and the current economy, I didn’t want to spend a lot of money, so I got the bright idea to go to the local thrift store to see if they had any headboards. I picked up this one for only $15. It did need some work, so I had to fill in some chips and gouges with wood putty, then I used some paint and stain to match the wood as best as I could. I think it turned out really well! I even found a queen-sized comforter set in the basement that I forgot I had until I went looking for the upholstery cover for the futon.

The futon has been moved upstairs where for now, it’s practically stacked on top of an old loveseat and old computers. Eventually the loveseat and old computers will be leaving, and I’ll have a nice sitting area upstairs that can double as more sleeping space if necessary.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Sleeve

  1. margene says:

    You’re doing a good job of working during retirement! The room looks nice!

  2. Cookie says:

    Fabulous sleeve!

    Nice re-do on the yarn room, too.

  3. Chris says:

    The sleeve looks great! Still loving that blue…

  4. Anne says:

    The sleeve looks absolutely perfect. Nice!

    Great use of a smallish room. And we should all probably hit the thrift stores more often these days, eh?

  5. Stacey says:

    That blue is lovely! Great job with the guest room. xoxo

  6. Nora says:

    Nice seam.

    All we have to offer guests is sofas. Too bad that fact only deters people we would actually want to stay…

  7. Carrie K says:

    The sleeve looks good! I’d never thought of knitting a sleeve top down separately. Since I’m currently dithering over my Dad’s cardigan’s sleeves, awesome. I have another option. Thank you!

    Love your guest room! Thrifty idea for the headboard, it looks great.

  8. Carrie says:

    Love that sleeve. I wish I could make mine look like that.

  9. Lani says:

    Lovely sleeve!! Looks perfect. So does the room. Great job!

  10. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    The sleeve is perfect! And “Huzzah!” for the thrift store find… I love thrift stores. We have a woman locally who started raising money doing a home tour in brand new houses completely decorated (dishes in the cupboards, books on the shelves, everything) with finds from the thrift stores that receive the profits from the ticket sales. It’s amazing!

  11. Miss T says:

    Really nice work on that sleeve–and the headboard!

  12. elizabeth says:

    I’m sitting here doubting my sanity because my first thought upon looking at that sleeve cap picture was, ‘ooohh, that’s so beautiful!’ I wonder when I started thinking sleeve caps were beautiful. But it is!

  13. Clever grrl!

    The sleeve looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

