In Memoriam

My mother’s loving companion of over 30 years passed away on Thursday after a lingering illness. He went peacefully with his family around him, just two days after his 91st birthday.

He was a true mensch. A sweet, warm, funny man who loved to read, was a well-known and well-respected businessman, and was great with his hands. He could fix just about anything, and had some great stories to tell – like his job testing condoms in the army, or having been the one to process the marital blood test for a famous fan dancer.

Rest in peace, Nate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to In Memoriam

  1. Carole says:

    I’m sorry for your family’s loss. This will be a difficult time for your mother, I’m sure, but I know you’ll get her through it.

  2. margene says:

    I’m so sorry for her loss, for your loss. He was quite a man.

  3. Stacey says:

    I’m sorry for your loss. He sounds like he was quite a character.

  4. Norma says:

    Testing condoms! I love him already. Sounds like he had a wonderful and full life, and your mom and your family have experienced a big loss.

  5. Anne says:

    Oh dear. I am so sorry. He sounds like a wonderful man, and I’m sure he will be very missed, not only by your mum.

  6. Carrie says:

    My condolences on the loss of this beloved man.

  7. I’m so sorry. It sounds like he had a full and great life.

  8. Cookie says:

    Oh, Cheryl, I’m so sorry for your family’s loss. I hope your mother can find some comfort in the memories of their years together.

    *hugs*

  9. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    I am sorry for your loss. Know that I will be praying for you and your family during this time.

  10. Lani says:

    Oh I’m so sorry!! My thoughts are with you, yours and his families!! ((Hugs))

  11. How sad. I’m very sorry for your loss.

  12. Carrie K says:

    I’m so sorry for your family’s loss. It sounds like he was a wonderful man.

    That’s pretty cool about Sally Rand.

  13. Nora says:

    What a great life. I’m sorry you’ve lost him, but I hope you’ll cherish the memories.

  14. Chris says:

    My thoughts are with you and your family.

  15. Miss T says:

    I’m very sorry. My condolences to all of you.

  16. Laurie says:

    I’m sorry. That was a poignant remembrance.

Leave a Reply

