FO: Mock Turtleneck Pullover

I finally finished my first NaKniSweMoDo sweater for the year. Unlike some people who are on number three already. You know who you are.

But after all, it was on size 5 and 3 needles, not on big chunky needles.

Mock Turtleneck

For this sweater, I took my own measurements and used some knitted tops that I have to help me come up with a basic template for the body of a pullover, with the amount of ease I wanted. That gave me the finished dimensions I wanted. From that, it’s just math to calculate the pattern for my gauge. Since I happen to own the Knitware Sweater software, I was able to put in my measurements, create a basic sweater design, and then “tweak” the finished measurements until they matched my numbers. That was a lot more time consuming than it sounds, since the software designs sweaters for different amounts of ease, based on an “ease factor” – I couldn’t just have it create a top to a specific set of desired finished measurements. So I had to keep tweaking “my” measurements until the finished dimensions came out the way I wanted. Then I still had to modify the basic pattern design for things like neckline width and depth, overall sweater length, and a few other assorted measurements. It probably would have been faster to just use a calculator and do the math by hand, but now that I have both my “size” and a basic pattern entered into the software, it will be much easier and faster to design more sweaters for myself. Or if I want to knit the same sweater in a different yarn, all I need to do is plug in my new stitch and row gauge, and print out the new pattern.

I couldn’t have asked for a better result! It fits exactly the way I wanted it to. It also happens to fit Susan perfectly, except for the sleeves being a little too long. I may have to lock it up if she comes over for a visit.

Pattern: My own
Yarn: Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool, colorway 10, about 5 1/2 skeins
Needles: US 5 (3.75 mm) and US 3 (3.25 mm)
Ravelry: Project page

Mock Turtleneck

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to FO: Mock Turtleneck Pullover

  1. Cher says:

    I loveeee the sweater! What a great fit and color!

  2. Chris says:

    It looks great! You Utah Grrls are just kicking along on your sweater challenge.

  3. margene says:

    Way to go! That sweater looks made for you. I might need one in red. 😉

  4. susan says:

    What! Someone’s on #3 already. She must be a loon.

  5. Nora says:

    You are a sweater knitter extraordinaire – that thing fits you like a glove! Beautiful knitting!

  6. Anne says:

    Nicely done! It’s a great first project. Beautiful color and beautiful fit!!

  7. Cookie says:

    Gorgeous!

    I think you should wear it every time Susan comes over. Just for safety’s sake. ;^)

  8. Carrie says:

    Very nice! If I may suggest, this summer, do that again but leave off the sleeves and the mock turtleneck like that WIP photo you posted a while ago too!

  9. Lani says:

    Lovely! That’s a great fit too, something everyone should have in their clothing arsenal!

  10. Norma says:

    Ahhhhhh, simple, wearable, beautiful perfection!

  11. Lauren says:

    It looks great!!

  12. Robby says:

    Wow! That is the most flattering fit on a sweater I have seen in, well, I can’t remember. Stellar job.

  13. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    Absolutely perfect! You are the best knitter I know when I it comes to getting the ideal fit. Very nice indeed!

  14. It fits you perfectly! Nice work, Cheryl.

  15. Laurie says:

    That looks so good! You really know how to fit a sweater to your preferences.

  16. sandy says:

    Wonderful! It looks great on and is very flattering!
    Great job! (I’m still in awe that would even THINK to knit a sweater a month! )

Leave a Reply

