Almost done

Drops 103-1

I survived the Magic Loop sleeves, and, while I’d still prefer to use DPNs, I got comfortable enough with the technique that I’d certainly use it again whenever I didn’t have the right DPNs.

But now for the questions…

Should I keep the 3/4 sleeves, or knit them to full length? I have plenty of yarn, since I bought enough to do full-length sleeves if I didn’t like the 3/4 length.

And, what to do about buttons? I just pinned it for the photo. I wouldn’t mind trying afterthought buttonholes, but that might be tricky in such a bulky yarn, since I wouldn’t have much yarn to weave in.

I could “force” buttonholes, and just reinforce the edges, but that would limit me to rather small buttons.

Or, I could add button loops to the edge – but there are so many different techniques. Any suggestions? Crochet loops? I-cord? Frogs?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Almost done

  1. Carrie says:

    Full length sleeves and frogs.

  2. joan says:

    Full length sleeves and buttons with snaps underneath.

  3. Lani says:

    I really like the 3/4 sleeves and think buttonloops on the edge, but probably only if you wanted them at the top (buttoned like the February Lady Sweater)… if you wanted closures all the way down I agree with Joan.

  4. Lisa R says:

    Full length sleeves and use a (heavy duty) shawl pin!

  5. Katherine says:

    Full length sleeves. And I saw one of these on Ravelry with little buckles instead of buttons. It looked very awesome. Is this my first time to delurk here?

  6. Laurie says:

    3/4 length (balancing the heft of the sweater) and frogs.

  7. Nora says:

    I’d put a couple of loops or frogs at the top, and leave the 3/4 sleeves.

    It looks great, Cheryl! Mygosh you knit fast…

  8. margene says:

    Like the sleeves as they are. Could be really heavy and in the way as full length. Frogs are a good idea or loops with fun buttons.

  9. Chris says:

    Full-length sleeves. Not sure about closures.

  10. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    I prefer full-length sleeves myself (I think that about evens the score, not so helpful). I’d do buttons with loops, or maybe the buckles mentioned above. It’s very cute!

  11. Full length and frogs!!

  12. Full length sleeves and frogs, leather ones, or toggles strappy things like frogs have. Or maybe you could force a buttonhole big enough for a toggle?

    In any case, full-length sleeves!

  13. Anne B. says:

    I think my vote is full length and a gorgeous broach at the top. Not sure if I spelled that right, broache? However I can be swayed and I would estimate my certainty levels at 83%.

  14. Carrie K says:

    Full length sleeves and buttons.

  15. Cookie says:

    Full length and frogs. I think frogs would really fit the style of the sweater.

  16. Susanne says:

    I really like the 3/4 sleeves…probably because that is what I would make in that pattern. I get too hot especially if I have something warm on underneath. I guess it also depends on how many heavier cardis you have in your closet. With the sleeves as they are, it might be a nice “spring” jacket.

  17. Cher says:

    I don’t know much, if anything, about knitting, but I really like the 3/4 sleeves. I think it would be perfect fpr those upcoming spring days where it’s too warm for a coat but just right for a sweater that’s not too bulky. For the buttons, I think it’s nice without. I would use a fancy brooch or pin to secure the top when you need it. It’s just so lovely the way it is .

Leave a Reply

