Decisions and More

I appreciate everyone’s comments and suggestions on the Drops jacket.

I really gave it a lot of thought and have decided to keep the 3/4 length sleeves.  Full-length ones would be the “safer” and more “practical” choice, but I have a tendency towards always doing the practical thing, and maybe it’s time to do something different. I already have lots of sweaters with full-length sleeves, and one of the reasons I really liked this pattern when I first saw it was the 3/4 length sleeves.

Also, it occurred to me to try it on with my Lacy Gloves, and it looks great! What a nice way to show off the cuffs on those gloves.

I really like the pattern, though, and I might consider making another one with long sleeves. Maybe in the worsted-weight version instead of the bulky version. I could see it in a really dark, rich, red. Maybe sort of a brownish red.

As for the closures, I’m still not sure. I wore it yesterday with a pretty pin to close it, but I think I’d rather have regular closures on it. If I do frogs, I think I’d want them in a contrasting color, rather than making them out of the same yarn. The idea of snaps with buttons on the outside is great, rather than making some sort of loops. But I suppose it depends on what kind of buttons I find, if that’s the way I end up going. I think I’ll have to go shopping, and just see if I can find something that speaks to me.

In the meantime, I’ve cast on for Thermal. But I think I’ll need to start another project too, because knitting with those size 2 needles is making my hands cramp up. I’ve decided to knit it in pieces instead of in the round, because the pattern is easier to knit when worked flat (no purl row), and then I won’t have to worry about any changes in gauge between circular and flat. That’s not usually a problem for me with stockinette, but it might be with the waffle stitch pattern. The photo doesn’t show the color very well, it’s KnitPicks Gloss in Pumpkin, and it’s a burnt orange color.

Thermal

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Decisions and More

  1. Monica says:

    Yay thermal! You are inspiring me. 🙂

  2. Cookie says:

    I agree that contrasting frogs would be the way to go if you go with frogs. Whatever you decide will be lovely, though.

    I’m looking forward to seeing how Thermal goes for you.

  3. Chris says:

    Wow, you are already cranking along on a new sweater?! Interesting – my hands cramp at larger needle sizes and less at smaller.

Leave a Reply

