Of Buttons and Swatches

Happy Groundhog Day!

I found some buttons for the Drops jacket yesterday at Blazing Needles. They’re big, black, square glass buttons with sort of a quilt pattern, which goes nicely with the double seed stitch pattern on the jacket. Since button loops wouldn’t really be right, I’m going to just sew on the buttons as decorations and use snaps to fasten the jacket.

Button for Drops 103-1 Jacket

I hate to admit it, but the three buttons cost more than half what I spent on the yarn. Yikes! But, they really seemed right, and I know I’m going to love this jacket, so they’re worth it.

Swatches

I also spent some time swatching. I need something to knit that’s on larger needles than the size 2 I’m using for Thermal.I’m going to use up more of my stash yarn and make the “Seed Stitch Shell” from an old Vogue Knitting magazine, using some green Cotton-Ease. Hopefully I’ll have enough. The pattern calls for a bulky cotton/acrylic blend, so I’m going to have to rework the numbers for my different gauge.

I swatched some purple Jo Sharp Silkroad Tweed DK with a couple of different needles,  since I was thinking about using it for Baby Cables and Big Ones Too. I can’t get the correct gauge, but it looks like I can knit the next size down and be about right.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Of Buttons and Swatches

  1. Chris says:

    Those are great buttons!! I bet you can guess which swatch is my favorite. 😉

  2. They’re awesome!

    I am going to have to remember the button-snap trick.

  3. margene says:

    The buttons can make or break the sweater. Good choice!

  4. Stacey says:

    The buttons are beautiful. So, what do you do with your swatches? Keep for future reference, or use them somehow?

  5. Nora says:

    What perfect buttons!

  6. elizabeth says:

    Those buttons are great! Happy Groundhog Day!

  7. Lani says:

    Yay for finding perfect buttons! \o/

  8. Carrie says:

    Nice buttons! I spent too much on the buttons for my (only) sweater too, but I had to have them… Now if I could only FIND the sweater…

  9. Carrie K says:

    Those buttons are gorgeous! They’ll look really good fronting the snaps.

    Thermal pattern stitch is really pretty. I’ll take your word on the color. 😉 (Because you would know, right? lol)

  10. Cookie says:

    Beautiful buttons!

    Didn’t you get the yarn at a great price? Not so bad then, right? I mean if they make the sweater and you love them…

    You tag your swatches? You are so clever. I never would have thought of doing that. /sigh

  11. Miss T says:

    Wonderful buttons. Worth the price.

  12. Norma says:

    Ohhh, excellent buttons. Vintage feel and just perfect.

  13. Brenda says:

    Beautiful buttons! Looks like you have some great projects coming up.

Leave a Reply

