FO: Drops 103-1 Jacket

It’s finished and I really love it. I’m sure I’ll wear it often. And now I’m dreaming about making the worsted-weight version with long sleeves, in a heathered or semi-solid dark red. Mmmm.

Drops 103-1

I think it’s cute over long sleeves, short sleeves, or with my long Lacy Gloves – and with the collar up or down. The Pontiff was patient enough to take lots of different photos, so click on any photo for larger. (Looks like spring, doesn’t it? I love leafy evergreens.)

Drops 103-1 Drops 103-1 Drops 103-1
Drops 103-1 Drops 103-1 Drops 103-1

Pattern: Drops 103-1 Jacket (“DROPS jacket in ”Eskimo” or ”Silke-Alpaca” with A-shape and ¾-long or long sleeves”.) The pattern has instructions for knitting with either bulky or worsted-weight yarn, and two sleeve lengths. I knitted the bulky version with 3/4 sleeves.

On Ravelry: My Project page, Pattern page.

Yarn: Garnstudio DROPS Eskimo (100% wool), 13.1 skeins. I’ll have to see how it wears, but so far, I really like the yarn. It’s quite sturdy, but very light and soft, and it drapes beautifully. I’ve been wearing it for a couple of days, and so far I haven’t seen any pilling. Note that this is a BULKY yarn. For some reason, Ravelry currently lists many of the Garnstudio yarns as one weight heavier than they are, so they list it as super-bulky. I think I need to contact the editors. (Yes, I know I can edit, but I don’t really want to make edits for yarns, since I don’t know if there are any issues with that.) The Silke-Alpaca is listed on Ravelry as Aran, but evidently it’s really worsted-weight.

Needles: US 11 / 8mm

Pattern Modifications:

  1. Cast on for size S to get less flare at the bottom, and worked fewer increases so that I ended up with the right number of stitches for size M at the chest.
  2. Decreased two extra stitches at each shoulder for narrower shoulders.

Knitting Modifications: I’m listing these separately from the pattern modifications because although I knit the pieces differently, the result was the same as if I’d followed the directions. They’re really a modification of the directions, not the pattern.

  1. Knit the body in one piece and then divided at the armscyes. I would probably not do this again, but I wasn’t sure if the knitted piece would grow more than I expected once it was knit up in such a large piece (it didn’t – it only grew slightly, as I expected from my swatch). I was also concerned that the seams might be too bulky, but I think they would have been fine.
  2. Picked up stitches around the armhole, shaped the sleeve caps with short rows, and knit the sleeves top down in the round. I chose to do this because I wasn’t sure if I wanted 3/4 or full length sleeves, and also because I wanted to try out the technique on something that didn’t have a ton of stitches. It worked out fine, but knitting them as indicated in the pattern would have been fine, too.
  3. Realized when I got to the top of the right side that I’d forgotten to do the buttonholes. I could have ripped back or laddered down, but I decided not to bother. So I just sewed on buttons for decoration, and used snaps as fasteners.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to FO: Drops 103-1 Jacket

  1. margene says:

    Nicely done! You made that jacket your own and it fits perfect. It will be one you wear and wear!

  2. Anne says:

    I really love this sweater – and honestly (!), it is totally perfect with the long gloves. A very Grace Kelly sort of look.

  3. Stacey says:

    Very nice! I love how you always make your mods on the fly… and then let us know what you did. The Pontiff is a patient and obviously loving man. Happy Tuesday! I’ll have to tell you about the pope in email. 😀

  4. joan says:

    Very nice! I love how it looks with gloves. Great job on the knit down sleeves.

  5. Janeanne says:

    Very elegant! The long gloves are the perfect choice. Thanks for showing how versatile the jacket is. Great post.

  6. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    That is awesome! And I love that you kept the bottom slightly less flared; it flatters you beautifully!

  7. Lani says:

    That is gorgeous!! The buttons are totally perfect for it. Great job!

  8. Chris says:

    It does look great on you!

  9. Miss T says:

    That’s great with the long gloves!

  10. Norma says:

    Oooh, Cheryl, it’s SO elegant, especially with the long gloves. But those buttons REALLY make it. Awesome.

  11. susan says:

    It’s one of your best pieces. It looks great on you. And the buttons are perfect.

  12. Nice work, you! Check out how it shows off the gloves!

  13. Carrie says:

    Fantastic! You were right about the sleeves with the gloves, of course. What a beautiful cardigan!

  14. Carrie K says:

    The 3/4 sleeves do look really nice with gloves. Gorgeous sweater! I love reading about the mods you made.

  15. Lauren says:

    That looks great on you! Good job 🙂

  16. Brenda says:

    Wonderful! It really looks great with your lacy gloves. I love it when different handknits work together.

  17. Georganna says:

    Love the jacket! If I wasn’t so bogged down in a jacket knitting project I started in Dec., I’d have to start on one like yours. Maybe soon!

  18. Carole says:

    You are rockin’ that jacket! Awesome job.

  19. Laurie says:

    Really really nice! I like what you did with the fastener issue. The sleeves are perfect!

Leave a Reply

