And the Winner Is…

Undecided.

I did finish the top with yarn to spare.

Seed Stitch Shell

However, it’s about 2″ too big. The photo shows it after I basted it with 1″ seams on each side.

Although this is partly because I didn’t think that the thick seed-stitch fabric would look good with much negative ease, it’s mostly because my garment gauge didn’t match my swatch gauge.

No, I didn’t check the gauge while I was knitting. I based my calculations on the finished swatch after it was machine washed and dried.

No, I didn’t bother to measure the back piece after it was done. Even though I threw it in the washer and dryer. It LOOKED like it was fine.

Yes, I’m paying for my arrogance.

It doesn’t look all that bad when I’m wearing it, but it feels really baggy. It was much better when I took in the seams.

So now I need to decide whether to throw in the towel and donate it to the thrift store, or frog it and reknit it. At least I know I’ll have enough yarn.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to And the Winner Is…

  1. Carrie says:

    Why not just leave it sewn up?

  2. Cookie says:

    Oh, honey, I’m sorry. At least, it was too big and not too small, right?

    Do you want to knit it again? Will the yarn stand up to it? If it’s something you think you’ll wear and enjoy, knit it again.

    xo

  3. margene says:

    If you love it and really, really want to wear it them it might be worth your time. Otherwise, give it up and take your losses.

  4. Chris says:

    Usually I can’t bear to frog and reknit. The yarn isn’t that expensive, right? Maybe donate and reknit…

  5. elizabeth says:

    Really? You couldn’t wear a shirt underneath and call it a vest? If you have to reknit it, at least it was a quick knit!

  6. Lani says:

    Oh dear! Could you not seam it to fit?

  7. Nora says:

    Huh. I’m sorta liking the “vest” idea. It could be cute even with a short-sleeved t-shirt.

  8. Lisa R says:

    I agree with Carrie: take in the seams like you would a woven fabric shirt that’s too big.

  9. Norma says:

    Yes, why not seam it? Bonne Marie does that. 🙂

  10. Anne says:

    I think I’d go with the donate and reknit, unless you want to serge the edges? It’s cotton tho…. so maybe not the best choice…..

  11. Cayenne says:

    I hate it when that happens.

  12. Laurie says:

    If you love the yarn, and love the pattern, yes. If it is all too annoying at this stage, donate it. Damn.

  13. debbie says:

    Frog & reknit? Ack! Don’t do that! I have a deal for you: see that lime green Berroco Smart Cotton in my stash? I have 10 skeins, 870 yards, which is more than enough for you to make another lovely little top for you, Slim, but not nearly enough for my fat body, I’m sure. So I’ll gift it to you, just ’cause. And with the nice bit of stretch in it, I bet you’ll like it better, anyway. Ya wanna?

  14. Miss T says:

    Perhaps you have a friend who’s a couple inches bigger than you and would love it?

  15. Cher says:

    Love the vest idea with a crisp white tailored shirt that maybe has oversized cuffs. It’s too nice to frog. Maybe put it away for a bit and decide later.

Leave a Reply

