My New Best Friend

For the moment, anyway. I’m notoriously fickle.

I love this little gem. Light, crisp, refreshing. Flavors of pear and apple. Great on its own, lovely with seafood. And instead of a cork, it has the cutest little glass stopper. No corkscrew needed. There might be a couple of bottles left at the wine store. I promise, I didn’t buy them all. Even though the Pontiff thought I should. Local price: $16.99. Almost certainly less if you aren’t in Utah.

Giovanni Puiatti Zuccole Pinot Grigio 2006

Giovanni Puiatti Zuccole Pinot Grigio 2006

And as long as we’re on the subject of wines, I’d like to say that I’ve never been a Champagne drinker. I never cared for the flavor (whether sweet or dry), and it always gave me a headache. People always told me that it was because I was drinking cheap Champagne. So thanks to a recommendation by local friend AlarmingFemale, I recently tried some Veuve Clicquot And it’s true – I think I’m hooked. I even bought some champagne glasses today.

Another wine I was never big on in the past was Chardonnay. But thanks to a local wine class, I’ve learned that what I don’t like are the typical oaked California Chardonnays. But give me some old-world, unoaked Chards, and I’m a happy girl. Some of my go-to selections are Louis Latour (French), Foxglove (California), and Alois Lageder (Italy).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My New Best Friend

  1. Stacey says:

    I must take a run across the border to Fat Dawgs (since I live in a dry county). Luckily, where I live now, it’s less than 5 minutes. Happy Thursday and thanks for the recommendation.

  2. margene says:

    That sounds like a white I would love…and the stopper is just too cute!

  3. Anne says:

    I’m the same way about oaked Chardonnays. I like unoaked MUCH better, but I’m also more of a Sauvignon Blanc kinda gal.

  4. Cher says:

    My favorite wine is from Bonterra. It’s called Viognier. It has wonderful undertones of peach and vanilla. The bottle I have now is a 2006. It’s really great if you like wine that isn’t too heavy.

  5. Chris says:

    Reading Cher’s comment – I used to like Viognier a lot, before all wine became a migraine trigger.

  6. Thanks, mon. I’ll check out the pg.

  7. Miss T says:

    I’ll have to look for that.

  8. Carrie says:

    I don’t think I’m classy enough for wines. Gimme a beer and I’m happy. Even happier with a six pack.

  9. Nora says:

    It’s all about that little stopper – so cute! You really can tell the difference with a pricey champagne. Even a glass or two of the cheap ones make me headachey and ill the next day.

  10. Chris says:

    I have so much to learn. It’s a little overwhelming, all these choices.

Leave a Reply

