FO: Seed Stitch Shell

NaKniSweMoDo number uhhh… four – no, number three… no, four!

Let’s see. I knit three tops, then frogged one and re-knit it. So what do I call it?

When asked whether a frogged and reknit top would count as one or two, Susan said “It TOTALLY counts as two!”.  After all, I’d be knitting two finished, wearable tops – they just both happen to be from the same yarn. I think I caught her in a moment of weakness. But I have witnesses.

So may I present, NaKniSweMoDo sweater number four: (And no, it’s not nearly as warm as it looks. It was in the mid 40’s and I was FREEZING.)

Seed Stitch Shell

Pattern: Seed Stitch Shell, by Charlotte Quiggle – from Vogue Knitting, Spring/Summer 2005. I really need to get my hair done like that, and find a pair of those pants – dontcha think?

Yarn: Lion Brand Cotton Ease, lime green, 3 skeins

Needles: US 6 (4 mm)

Ravelry: Pattern page, Project page

Modifications: The pattern calls for a bulky yarn, so basically I followed the directions for the largest size since I had a much smaller gauge. Other than that, I made slight modifications to the waist shaping and made the shoulder pieces narrower.

I’m much happier with this one than with the first one I made. I could have worn it, but probably wouldn’t have, since it felt baggy. This one is much more comfortable.

And since we enjoyed Norma‘s post about her Marta sweater so much, the Pontiff thought I should do a “looking through the window à la Norma” pose. I really wanted to do the garden ornament pose, but there just wasn’t a good spot for it.

Seed Stitch Shell

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to FO: Seed Stitch Shell

  1. Kris says:

    Pretty! Props for doing an entirely seed stitch garment too – it would take me forever…

  2. Nora says:

    Great job, Cheryl! It fits you perfectly.

    I’m sad that you didn’t do the “I have to pee” pose a la Norma – I nearly lost it at that one!!

  3. Stacey says:

    It counts as 4!

    You and Norma should totally volunteer to be models for the next IK. They need some fresh blood in there. Happy Tuesday Cheryl

  4. margene says:

    You must have had to find “the process” to get through it a second time! Looks great!

  5. Carrie says:

    It looks fantastic! Good choice to reknit – it’s quite flattering.

  6. Anne says:

    Hopefully there will be some warm weather in your future so you can wear that very cute top soon!

    I vote for a 2-project count on it!

  7. Norma says:

    ROFL. You TOTALLY need the hair — and the GLASSES! I’d much prefer the pants to be skin-tight hot pink, with 6-inch stilettos, but that’s just me.

    ROFLing about the looking-in-the-window pose. We can still work on the garden ornament one. Next sweater, hahaha.

  8. Lauren says:

    I love it! I’m lmao about the window pose too, they are both fantastic!

  9. susan says:

    Two wearable tops, true. But only one you can actually wear. I believe what I really said was “It TOTALLY doesn’t count as two.” 😉

  10. Lani says:

    Lovely! Hopefully the weather will warm up soon so you can wear it outside comfortably! 😉

  11. Cayenne says:

    It’s beautiful. I love it.

  12. Chris says:

    I love it! It looks like a top you’ll get a lot of use out of.

  13. Cookie says:

    Did you get it writing? ;^)

    Lovely!

  14. Brenda says:

    Well done! The fit looks great and it’s a very good color for you. I love seed stitch. I wonder if I have that VK…

  15. Miss T says:

    It worked! It looks great!

  16. Laurie says:

    Don’t forget those eyeglasses. Must complete the outfit.

    Looks good. I would have said “What?? What’s with the window??” But it works to show off the garment. Maybe it’s the new standard.

Leave a Reply

