Rescued

Before the snow and freezing rain:

Daffodils

The conversation went like this yesterday afternoon, as my husband drove me to SnB (he was going to pick me up afterward for dinner at my mother’s, so I didn’t want to drive separately):

Me: Oh, it’s going to snow tonight – I should have picked some of the daffodils before they freeze.

Me: It will too late after dinner – would you pick some when you get home:

Him: I don’t even know what a daffodil is.

Me: They’re the only things flowering in the garden.

Him: I’m not going to waste my afternoon picking flowers.

Me: You won’t buy flowers for me, at least you could go pick them for free.

Him: That’s even worse – they’re freshly killed.

I wisely gave up at this point.

And no, he didn’t pick any. But as it turned out, it was light enough (and still not snowing) when we got home, so I salvaged some.

I’m also excited to see that the 100 or so tulips that I planted last year are starting to come up. I was a little worried that they might have rotted in the wet, clay soil.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rescued

  1. margene says:

    If you can love my pansy then I can love your daffodils. At least you were the one to freshly kill the flowers. We know L is too tender hearted…he would have cried!

  2. Cookie says:

    Very pretty!

    If he has such respect for plants, why does he eat them? ;^)

  3. Nora says:

    They are gorgeous. I’m glad you saved them!

  4. Chris says:

    Wow. I can’t believe you have actual flowers growing.

  5. Norma says:

    But daffs stay fresh so long in a vase. Tell Larry. But don’t pick the tulips — they’re gone before you get them in, almost!

  6. Lucky you, mine aren’t even opened yet.

  7. Carrie K says:

    He won’t even hunt and kill a flower for you? Some guy you’ve got there. 😉

    Pretty!

  8. Stacey says:

    Lovely! I’ve decided to scatter daffodil bulbs randomly around the tree roots and the rocks. It’ll be nice to have that little surprise. I was thinking of doing a bed of just crocus, hyacinth and tulips. A small one… jsut spring flowers

  9. Miss T says:

    Thank goodness you managed to pick some yourself–they’re beautiful!

  10. Anne B. says:

    Oh beautiful flowers! So very pretty and springlike!

Leave a Reply

