WIP Wednesday

Is Mercury in retrograde*?

Both Susan and Margene experienced frogging and reknitting of their NaKniSweMoDo sweaters this month. And yesterday I discovered that I needed to rip out 6″ of the body of my Baby Cables and Big Ones Too.

I was so excited about having gotten through all of the waist decreases and one of the increase for the hips. Until I realized that I’d only been doing the waist decreases on one side. I suppose I could have just ignored it and walked around bent to one side. Sigh.

I ripped and ripped… and then reknitted and reknitted. Many hours later, I’m still not back to where I was. But at least it’s stockinette in the round. But I’m still excited about the project – I think I’m really going to like it. As long as I have enough yarn to finish. Which is questionable. But I’m not worrying about that yet.

I also started on a more portable project – Wisp, using ShiBuiKnits Silk Cloud in Chinese Red. I had dreaded having to wind the skein, but with a bit of help from DH, it went quite well. I put the skein in the freezer for a few hours first. I don’t if it helped or not, but there weren’t any tangles, and I ended up with a nice, loosely wound ball. I love the sheen of this yarn.

Wisp

*I just checked my horoscope for this month. It says, in part:

You may need to have a bit of patience this month because your ruling planet, Venus, is about to retrograde from March 6 to April 17. This means that you may experience a setback, or you may need to tweak a project or a relationship to make it work better

Well. There you go.

Oh, and good news! I just found out that the Pontiff will be on our local Channel 4 news. They’re doing a feature on Switch Salon, which recently converted to using his LED lights. They’re filming tomorrow afternoon, but we don’t know when it will air.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to WIP Wednesday

  1. Nora says:

    Very exciting about the TV appearance!

    Wisp is lovely – great color!

  2. Anne says:

    I think “patience” is the watchword of the month. Lordy-moses knows I’ve needed mine. Maybe April will be a little more forward-looking.

  3. margene says:

    Anne is so right. March is all about patience….the weather sucks, knitting is slow going and who knows what the next shoe to drop will be. Good luck to L.

  4. Carrie says:

    Huh. Last night at knit night we were wondering if there was an astrological equivalent to mercury-in-retrograde that meant your husband was going to be a jerk – that seems to be making the rounds around here. It’s contagious. Maybe Anne’s got it.

  5. Miss T says:

    Ooh, that’s pretty.

  6. Lani says:

    Oh no for having to rip back! Lucky though that you’re still enthused about the project! 🙂 (I personally would have put it in timeout for a few weeks).

    Yay for TV time too! That’s so awesome!

  7. elizabeth says:

    Oh no! But thanks for the laugh – walking around bent to one side, indeed! Keep the faith, March is almost over.

  8. Chris says:

    Cursed retrograde! But hey, with the extra decreases, you should have more yarn now. 😉

  9. Cookie says:

    That Wisp is going to be gorgeous!

  10. Norma says:

    Oh gawd. I was all excited, thinking that he was going to be on there for the sexy legs contest.

    Which site do you use for your horoscope?

  11. Carrie K says:

    You’d think Venus in retrograde would be more….sexy, than frogging sweaters.

    Alas! But onward now.

    Hmm. I seem to have swallowed a 1800 gentleman’s dictionary.

Leave a Reply

