The Garden Gnome Plot

Recently I hatched an evil idea. One that required some sort of small garden gnome. I mentioned my evil plan at last Sunday’s SnB, with the hope that someone might know where I could find something appropriate.

To my delight, Eliza said she had seen gnomes-on-a-stick at Target.

Oh, goodie! A reason to go to Target! Forgive my enthusiasm, but sadly there isn’t a Target close to me, so I don’t go very often. But there are a few things I can only get there, so it’s always a treat to have a reason to travel there.*

Sadly, the one that was closest to me was all out of gnomes-on-a-stick. Only the box they used to sit in was left.

Even better – a reason to go to a different Target!

This time I got lucky. I had my choice of four different versions of gnomes-on-a-stick. I decided to buy two – one for my evil plot, and one for the garden, to torment my husband.

Gnomes on a stick

The gnomes are approximately 4.5″ high, plus a 3″ stick (7.5″ total).

Sadly, I cannot reveal the details of my plot. But rest assured, it has nothing to do with any of you. The person involved is not a knitter, and I have no reason to think that she reads my blog, but it’s possible since she knows about it.

Until my plan can be fulfilled, this little guy will just have to make his hime in my pencil cup.

Gnome in a pencil cup

*If you must know, here are some of my favorite Target items:

Michael Angelo’s Eggplant Parmesan. I got hooked on this when they sold it at Costco. I buy every one they have on the shelf whenever I go. Much better than any I’ve ever made myself, and better than most restaurants.

Archer Farms frozen appetizers (various). I love to have some of these on hand, not just for guests, but when we want to just have some “small plates” for dinner. I also like a lot of the Archer Farms chips and crackers.

Method brand products. Some other stores around here carry one or two products (mostly the soap), but Target has the best selection of products.

Dove Promises (Dark chocolate, of course): Although I can get these anywhere, Target’s price is about $1 per bag less. I keep ’em in the freezer. Our usual evening snack most nights is one Promise apiece.

SmartyKat CatChaisekitty scratcher/lounger. I just bought a replacement for the old one. Not available at all the Targets.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Garden Gnome Plot

  1. Norma says:

    Ohhhh, I love that gnome on a stick! We don’t have a Target here, either, but there’s one in Plattsburgh, across the lake. Might be I’ll have to take a trip over there!

  2. Chris says:

    Plus it’s a Minnesota-based company. 🙂

    Hmm – this isn’t an Amelie-esque sort of plot, is it? Very intriguing.

  3. Miriam says:

    I like buying French sparkling lemonade at target. It’s way cheaper there than anywhere else. Also, the Archer Farms ethnic simmer sauces are really good too.

    And Target’s clearance towels make my bathroom snazzy!

  4. Carole says:

    I’ll have to look for that eggplant parm. I don’t make it very often myself because it’s just so labor intensive.
    Love the gnomes!

  5. Miss T says:

    Nice gnomes. I can’t wait to see what you do with them! However, I have grown to hate Target–it’s a necessary evil, but not fun like it used to be.

  6. margene says:

    I’m so glad you found a couple of gnomes! Must try the Archer Farms appetizers. We like their salad dressings, too.

  7. Nora says:

    Too cute.

    I love Target – including the Archer Farms and Method products. I have to stay away, though, because I can’t seem to get out of there without spending at least $100, even if I just went in for something stupid.

  8. Carrie says:

    I recently stocked up on some various Method products. (I LOVE their wood polish. My house has never been so clean, because I keep cleaning all the wood furniture with that stuff to get the scent!) What I don’t get is why the laundry soap is scented and with dye, when everyone else’s “natural” option is dye free and scent free.

  9. Anne B. says:

    That sounds very evil, in a way that a cute old man with a red toque can be evil. I liked the Archer farms potato chips. Its funny, since there isn’t a Target in Canada a lot of my Canadian friends want to go to one!

  10. Lani says:

    Target rocks! I don’t go in there often since I always end up spending over $100.00 on things that I didn’t go in there to get!

  11. Cookie says:

    Now I need to go back to Target and find me some gnomes! We’re hooked on the Archer Farms chips. Yum!

    I need eggplant parm now…

  12. Stacey says:

    must.know.evil. Neeeeeeeeed evil, my pressssssscious. 😀

  13. Robby says:

    Jeez! Now I am sure I *need* a garden gnome on a stick. I think these may appear in surprise fashion in the garden of one or two people I know. Why? Well, just because I can do it and it’s ornery. THat’s reason enough, no? Sounds like a perfect April Fool’s day activity, if I can find them in time.

Leave a Reply

