FO: Baby Cables and Big Ones Too

We finally had some sunny weather for a photo shoot. Yippee! I was able to talk the Pontiff into a short trip over to the City & County building for a change of scenery.

Baby Cables and Big Ones Too

This is NaKniSweMoDo finished sweater #5.

Can you tell I love this sweater?

The fit is great, and the yarn softened into the most wonderful fabric. It’s cozy without being too hot.

With washing, the fabric gets much more drape. I didn’t really have very much growth, so it was pretty true to the swatch. I was careful not to let it stretch out when laying it out to dry – I just patted it into shape.

Baby Cables and Big Ones Too Baby Cables and Big Ones Too
Baby Cables and Big Ones Too If you want larger photos, you can click any image to go to it’s Flickr page and view larger sizes.

 

Pattern: Baby Cables and Big Ones Too, by Suvi S. This is a very well-written pattern, and I definitely recommend it. It has a good schematic, charts for the cables, and is very clear. My project page is here.

Yarn: Jo Sharp Silkroad Tweed DK, Color: Festival, 8 balls

Size: My gauge with this yarn was a bit looser than what was specified for the pattern, so I knitted the smallest size (32 3/4″), and the finished sweater came out at 35.5″.

Needles: US 4 (3.5 mm), and US 3 (3.25 mm) for the garter stitch at the hem only.

Modifications: Instead of picking up 8 stitches under each arm, I only picked up 4. Then after a couple of sleeve decreases, I skipped two decreases so that I ended up with the same number of stitches for the sleeves. (Well, technically I did pick up 8 stitches, then immediately decreased those to 4 on the next round.) This resulted in a slightly more fitted upper sleeve. I probably wouldn’t do that if I knit it again, but I might do one or two fewer raglan increases (but keep the yoke at the same length).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to FO: Baby Cables and Big Ones Too

  1. Carrie says:

    Wow, fantastic sweater! Everything about it is flattering.

  2. Lauren says:

    It looks great! I think I might have to add this to my queue.

  3. Norma says:

    Oh, I LOVE it! And I know how wonderfully this yarn softens, too. I can’t wait to make a sweater for ME in this. This lilac (or lavender or whatever!) color is so refreshing and light for this time of year, and looks fab on you!

  4. Stacey says:

    That is lovely! It certainly does flatter you.

    I swear I saw you today on Diners, Drive-In’s and Dives. Someplace in SLC known for their biscuits? I ran to your blog to compare and I still swear! 😀

  5. margene says:

    As you know, I love that sweater on you!! It’s really gorgeous.

  6. Julie says:

    Beautiful sweater; it looks great on you!

  7. Chris says:

    It looks wonderful on you!

  8. Anne says:

    How very very pretty! I love the color and the fit/style is great on you too!

  9. Another winner, Cheryl! Great work.

  10. Nora says:

    It’s just beautiful, Cheryl, and looks wonderful on you!

  11. Robby says:

    Really gorgeous sweater. You always seem to make them fit you ‘just so’. Making the wearer and the garment flattered by your handwork. Lovely job.

  12. Lori says:

    This looks so great on you! I’m definitely putting it in my queue – I’ve got some stashed silky wool that will be perfect!

  13. Cookie says:

    Completely fabulous! Well done.

  14. Miss T says:

    Looks wonderful!

  15. elizabeth says:

    Wow! I love it!!! Wasn’t that nice of the Pontiff to agree to a new background?!? I’m always driving past buildings and thinking ‘that’d be perfect for a photo shoot’ but somehow end up in the back yard…

  16. Brenda says:

    So pretty! A a great photo shoot too. It’s a really good color for you.

  17. Laurie says:

    So good! (And great photo shoot too. I can feel the western sun.)

  18. Carrie K says:

    That is so cute!

Leave a Reply

