Under the Sea

Earlier this year my husband and I purchased annual memberships at the Clark Planetarium. It’s $49 for a duo membership ($99 for a family of five), and includes free admission to all shows in both the Dome and IMAX theaters, 15% off at the concession stand and gift shop, special members-only events, and discounts at other ASTC science centers which are more than 90 miles away.

The price is the same cost as going to three IMAX shows each, so if you’re planning on going to one anyway, it’s a good deal to buy the membership and be able to see all the shows you want for a year.

I didn’t know (or forgot) about the discount at other ASTC museums, or I could have gotten a discount at the South Florida museum last month.

On Thursday, we went to see the new 3D show “Under the Sea 3D”, narrated by Jim Carrey. My husband had already seen it once, since he went to a members-only preview while I was cruising with Norma. But he was happy to see it again.

I’d have to say that it’s one of the best 3D shows I’ve ever seen. The photography is amazing! Even though I scuba dive, this is unlike anything you’d ever see while diving. Not only do you get to see creatures and behavior you wouldn’t normally see, you see it in extreme close-up, and in incredibly realistic 3D. And because of the lighting for the cameras, you see the true and unbelievably vivid colors of the fish and coral, instead of seeing them through a haze of blue.

The movie does make some references to global warming and the effect on the sea which I felt detracted a bit from the experience. I think if they wanted to talk about global warming, it would have been better to have either had some text about it at the beginning of the ending credits, or at the very least, finished the actual film and then had someone talk about it. It’s not that I don’t think it’s an important issue, but the way they did it just seemed jarring, and kind of ruined the mood a bit. It felt a bit like Jekyll and Hyde.

But still, I thought it was a wonderful experience and I’ll definitely go see it again. Maybe a few times.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Under the Sea

  1. Stacey says:

    Sounds wonderful. I started doing some research and while there is really nothing in Tyler, DFW is rich with museums and such. I made a list and sent them off to Texas and told him he has to take me. πŸ˜€

    The one I’m hoping for next weekend is the Asian museum. They have a Japanese quilt exhibit and it sounds lovely.

  2. Stitch-n-Snitch says:

    We used to have a membership to the Clark Planetarium, and we certainly got a lot of use out of it! πŸ™‚

  3. Chris says:

    That sounds like a very cool experience. Does your IMAX show any “regular” movies? That’s an amazing way to experience them!

  4. Cayenne says:

    Sounds very interesting.

  5. Chris says:

    I agree, the Imax movies are wonderful.

    We have the pass for about two more weeks, and I think we’ll be going a few last times, then get it again in a year or two. We’ve *loved* it. I haven’t seen the Deep Sea one, but the boys have twice. Maybe I can convince them to see it a third time.

Leave a Reply

