FO: Thermal

I had to wrestle Norma to the ground to get it back, but it was worth it.

Thermal

Pattern: Thermal by Laura Chau, Knitty Winter 2006

Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss, Pumpkin, 7 skeins

Size: B

Needles: 3 mm (US 2.5)

Modifications: Worked flat in pieces instead of in the round. Otherwise, pretty much knit as written. I put a buttonhole in the neck band (but I don’t think I’ll put a button there after all), and shortened the armscye about 1/2″. Shortening the armscye raised the scoop neckline a bit, so it can be worn without another shirt underneath, but otherwise, I did not alter the neckline or its placement.

Notes: It did grow a little after washing, but I was careful not to stretch it out when it was wet, and sort of “fluffed” it back into shape to dry. The body grew a bit more in width than in length. The sleeves grew much more in length than I expected from how the body washed up – I expected 1/2″ to 1″ and it turned out to be more like 2 to 2 1/2″. But that worked out fine since I like the sleeves better with the cuffs turned back anyway.

I really like how it turned out – it’s a very good combination of pattern and yarn. The knitted fabric is very comfortable and lightweight (though still fairly warm). Hopefully it will wear fairly well. If so, I’d definitely consider the yarn for other projects.

Although it does take sort of a long time to knit, it’s interesting because of the waffle pattern, which is easy but not quite as mindless as garter or stockinette.

It was really cute without the sleeves, so I think it would definitely be a nice tank top or vest, and would be done much more quickly.

More details on my Ravelry page.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to FO: Thermal

  1. Chris says:

    It looks terrific on you, too!

  2. Carrie says:

    It looks great on you AND Norma! You’ll have the Golden Vintage next time she comes, and I bet she has a Thermal!

  3. Stacey says:

    At least it didn’t get sweater-napped back to her house. 😀 Another wonderful job. At least you know what you can knit her for her birthday?

    /runs

  4. DeAnn says:

    You look fantastic! I do love the thermal, and your mods are great. Have fun with the golden vintage.

  5. Stitch-n-Snitch says:

    Cute!!!

  6. Nora says:

    Great sweater! Nice job, Cheryl!

  7. JessaLu says:

    Wonderful sweater!

  8. Lani says:

    Gorgeous!!! Totally looks store purchased!

  9. Cookie says:

    It looks wonderful on you!

    I’m so glad you got it back from our Norma.

  10. elizabeth says:

    It looks awesome, I’m glad you got it back from Norma! Your next sweater’s going to be great too – I’ve love that olive green! makes me want a martini!

  11. Lauren says:

    It look so great!! I have yarn for this but am not quite ready to tackle it yet. Yours is awesome.

  12. margene says:

    Thermal looked ok on Norma, but it looks fantastic on you! Did you double check Norma’s bag before she left your house?

  13. Anne says:

    It came out great – and obviously looks good on all SORTS of models. 🙂

  14. Laurie says:

    Very nice! Everyone who has knit it seems to love wearing it. Some who haven’t knit it love wearing it too, I see.

Leave a Reply

