More Garden Talk

It must be Spring!

I was at one of our local plant nurseries the other day, and they had pink tomato cages. Pink. o.O

If any of you local folk are into that kind of thing (I think there were green ones, too, but I was sort of blinded by the pink), you can find them at Millcreek Gardens. In the parking lot.

My tomato cages, however, are not pink. We made them out of concrete reinforcement wire after I got tired of having my tomatoes get knocked over by strong winds every year. These babies have held up great for years. (You may have to click for a bigger version to see the detail.) There are a zillion tutorials on the Internet for building these, if you want some of your own.

Tomato Cages

I guess it’s also time for a patio update. So far this year we’ve gone from this (see previous post)

to this:

Patio and veggie gardens

There’s still a lot of work to do, but at least we’re making good progress. Already we’ve spent quite a few hours enjoying the patio.

By the way, that plastic stuff is garden cages covered with plastic – protecting my newly planted green beans.

Say, does anyone know anything about pressure washers? I wanted to rent one to clean up the fence before staining it. DH said maybe we should just buy one. I thought he figured that by the time we spent the money on the rental, we might as well put it towards buying one. Today he said it was only because if we buy one, it will come in a box and be easily transportable.  (That makes lots of sense, eh?) Anyway – if you have one or have rented one – any thoughts on buying vs. renting, or type to get if we buy one?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to More Garden Talk

  1. We bought one at Costco. You could just borrow it if you want.

  2. Stacey says:

    I say buy it… you can power wash your house, your sidewalk, your driveway… you can lend it out to friends who need one. 😀 If you say, felt like driving to TX. 😀 Rentals really aren’t that expensive. It’s all in how long you use it. If you pick it up and let it sit instead of getting right to work, of course you won’t get done in the cheaper time period.

  3. Lauren says:

    The Boyfriend loves his pressure washer. I think his also came from Costco? I don’t know about buying vs. renting. I do like being able to clean the outside of the house, the patio, and the cars (sometimes) with it.

  4. Chris says:

    Great patio!! I would pretty much live out there.

  5. Cookie says:

    I’ve seen the green cages before, but I still think pink ones are just wrong. The patio is looking great!

    I vote rent (or borrow) one. Just to see if you like it. If you do, then look into buying one.

  6. Carrie says:

    If your husband is anything like my husband, he will find excuses for using the purchased pressure washer. There is no patio sweeping at my house anymore. Must be pressure-washed to “do the job right”. /eyeroll

  7. margene says:

    Just think of all the water you’re wasting in our desert environment. Rent one and you’ll won’t use it “just for fun”.
    LOVE the patio. You two have worked so hard!

  8. Carrie K says:

    Rent one. I bought one at Ace Hardware and can’t get it to work.

    The patio looks so inviting! Wait until all those tomato plants start producing. YUM.

  9. Miss T says:

    I would so love pink tomato cages! Nice patio.

Leave a Reply

