I am gobsmacked.

Heather generously offered to lend me her pressure washer. After using it for a day, I can see we’re going to have to get one of our own. I am totally amazed at the transformation of our fence. And with all of the wood surfaces we have, this would certainly make maintenance a lot easier.

Here’s what our fence looked like before – gray and stained. The fence is over 20 years old, and I’m sure it never had any stain or waterproofing.

Fence before cleaning

But after having a go at it with the power washer (notice I’m wearing gloves and safety glasses like a good girl),
Power washing

it looks practically new:

Fence after cleaning

It’s definitely a time-consuming project, though. The Pontiff and I switched off working on it, because your arms get tired after a while. We didn’t get through the whole fence in one day, but we were able to finish most of it.

Now we have to decide whether to stain it (and of course, then re-stain it every couple of years), or just leave it alone and pressure wash it once a year. If it was new wood, I’d definitely treat it. But considering that it’s already pretty “aged”, I don’t know how well a stain will last on it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I am gobsmacked.

  1. Chris says:

    Wow – that is amazing! You could do a commercial. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Robby says:

    I live in a similar climate, and I have to say the biggest enemy of wood is the sun. Considering your monumental leap with the power washing, I’d go that route. But, I can be a bit lazy, too. ;^)

  3. Stacey says:

    Go with thew protectant water seal stuff. It doesn’t have to be colorored, although I do love the honey color we have on ours.

  4. margene says:

    Whoa, that is quite a difference!

  5. Carrie says:

    My DH (a carpenter by trade) swears that water seal stuff is worthless. But we both know he’d pick the power tool route every time. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. elizabeth says:

    Our fence looks just like your “before” picture. We consider it part of our security system – if anyone tried to climb over it, the whole thing is likely to fall down!

  7. I’d seal it somehow. You’ve probably opened up the wood or something. Maybe an oil or something?

    Glad it worked out so well! It makes me want to pressure wash things!

  8. Lauren says:

    Wow that’s quite a difference!

  9. Anne says:

    That is a HUGE difference. Very nice-looking now.

  10. Cookie says:

    Wow! What a difference.

  11. Chris says:

    I didn’t expect it to look so different – that’s awesome!

  12. Carrie K says:

    That is an awesome difference. I’d try sealing it, just because I live in drought crazed CA.

  13. Lani says:

    Beautiful! Hmmm… my parents have a pressure washer… never thought of using on the fence.

  14. Miss T says:

    Looks like a completely different fence!

Leave a Reply

