Still Here

But too busy to do much knitting.

I’ve made a little progress on my Retro Wild top. This is actually the back of it – I haven’t done much of the front yet. I just put it on Betty backwards to get a better idea of how it’s going to look. The front neckline will be a little bit lower.

Retro Wild

So far, I think it’s going pretty well, though I do have some doubts about the armholes. I don’t know how well the fabric is going to lie. The fabric is very stretchy so it wants to pull in away from the arm, and it also wants to curl in a lot.

I suppose that’s why the model in the pattern photo is posed in such a way that you can’t see either armhole.

There’s supposed to be a hemmed edging knitted around both the armholes and the neckline (in red), but after having disastrous results with that edge at the hem, I’ll have to come up with something else.

Oh well, I’ll worry about that when I get there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Still Here

  1. Chris says:

    Oh, I HATE those tricky model poses. Hmph. I think there was one of those in the latest IK, where I suspected about 5 pounds of sweater were bundled in the back out of sight using binder clips.

  2. Cookie says:

    Fingers crossed.

    It is looking good so far.

  3. Nora says:

    It is cute – and it will probably fit better than nearly anything you could buy in a store, anyway!

  4. Anne says:

    So far tho, I really like it! Hopefully you can figure out a solution to the armscye area.

  5. elizabeth says:

    I would think a hemmed armhole facing would create a lot of bulk, maybe a simple rib?

  6. Carrie K says:

    You could always try a fabric facing if they won’t behave. Annoying though.

    Looks good! Marvy.

  7. margene says:

    It looks great so far. You’ll come up with the perfect fix, I have no doubt.

  8. Norma says:

    Looks really CUTE, though!

  9. Robby says:

    My first knitting instructor (who is a designer) cautioned the class that anytime the pattern picture shows an unnatural pose or never showed a bit of the garment, you could be sure that was where the flaw was. Doesn’t mean you can’t overcome it. You just get extra credit.

  10. Miss T says:

    Photos can be *so* deceptive.

Leave a Reply

