FO: Retro Wild

Finally! The crazy one, she is finished! NaKniSweMoDo #9.

Retro Wild Retro Wild

It’s a bit more snug than I’d originally planned for – not that it looks bad, but it just feels a little tight around the neck and arms. It’s wearable, though, and since it’s cotton, maybe it will stretch out a bit.

The fact that I got a wearable top out of this at all is a miracle. I was pretty much just winging it all the way through.

I swatched for the main body, but ended up using a much smaller needle than I expected, since it looked much too loose once I started knitting the actual garment (which is the reason the top is smaller than planned). Of course, I didn’t bother to swatch in the round. I’d planned on using US 4 needles for the main part of the body, but ended up using US 2.5.

I didn’t bother to do any swatching for the colorwork. Figuring that I was going to use US 4 for the body, I just went up a needle size and went full speed ahead. I figured it wasn’t that much more work than doing a swatch anyway. Since the colorwork piece fit around my abdomen pretty well, I just called it good. However, in retrospect, that was definitely too large a needle size. The colorwork stitches look pretty sloppy. Some of that is undoubtedly due to the fact that it’s a smooth, mercerized cotton yarn. Some of it is most likely due to my relative inexperience with stranded colorwork. A lot of it is due to the pattern itself – there are long stretches of one color. But I also think some of it is just that it’s knitted too loosely.Β  The duplicate stitching that’s done over the top of the colorwork also didn’t work out all so great, since it really didn’t cover the underlying stitches very well.

Remind me never to do stranded knitting with mercerized cotton ever again.

I also made the armscyes a little shorter than I’d normally like – but that was mostly because if I made them longer, the colorwork band would have been too low to fit properly, and the fabric above it would be baggy.

Overall, I think it’s a fun top, and the Pontiff really likes it.

Pattern: #16 Sleeveless Top, by Teva Durham, from Vogue Knitting Spring/Summer 2005

Yarn: Garnstudio Safran, in off-white, red, grey, and black

Needles: US 2.5 (3mm) for the body, US 5 (3.75 mm) for the colorwork

Size: Smallest (but at a larger gauge)

Ravelry Project Page

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to FO: Retro Wild

  1. JessaLu says:

    Beautiful sweater! That band around the bottom looks so very cool!

  2. marianne says:

    ManOman, it looks great on you!
    Fun how the ‘winging it’ works out so well!

  3. Cayenne says:

    Well, I think it is awesome.

  4. Chris says:

    It’s cute. Sorry, I’m surprised – I was worried about how crazy it looked from the pattern! πŸ™‚

  5. Nora says:

    Cheryl, it’s just great! It fits you perfectly, and I think you’re smart to start out a little snug. My recent experience even with even mass-produced cotton knits is that they grow.

  6. margene says:

    Cute, cute, cute and well done!!!

  7. Lauren says:

    It looks great! It does look way better on you than what the pattern looked like. Good job πŸ™‚

  8. Carrie says:

    Wow! It looks SO much better on you than in the pattern pic. Only you can say how it fits, but it looks like a win to me!

  9. Norma says:

    It’s a WINNER!!!! God, it looks GREAT on you! XO

  10. Norma says:

    Ooops. Sent “submit” a bit too soon. I meant to add: Wonder how it’ll look on ME. hahahahaha

  11. Like it! I do like the duplicate stitch after all. I know you say it’s loose, but you can’t tell from the photograph and I’m interested to see if you can even tell in person, or if it’s the kind of thing only the knitter would notice.

    Looks really cute, Cheryl!

  12. Anne says:

    Check – no colorwork with cotton. You were brave to go there at all.

    I think it looks quite cute. It’ll be perfect for the warmer weather with capris or something similar.

  13. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    Oh, it’s so cute! What a great job you did. It fits really well, too.

    I was wondering how the duplicate stitch in cotton would work out… thanks for the warning.

  14. Cookie says:

    It’s a winner!

    Just keep it away from that Norma. ;^)

  15. Lani says:

    Wow, even with all those issues you listed your sweater still looks perfect!! (I’m so jealous!) πŸ˜‰ It looks great… totally looks like a store bought top.

    Oh.. and NINE??!!! You’re just cruisin through those sweaters!

  16. Stacey says:

    It looks WONDERFUL! Yeah, what Cookie said! Where’s the big hair.

  17. Laurie says:

    Your modeled shot hides at the sins you describe, but I understand. Picking apart the FO is a good ole American knitters pasttime. I tried colorwork with 60% mohair yarn and put it away until I was more experienced with tension during stranding. Cotton must be hell.

  18. Carrie K says:

    It’s really cute! So much better than the original pattern while still being true to it.

    Yup, cotton is a pain to knit. Too bad I live in cotton country.

  19. elizabeth says:

    I really like it too! That was a fast knit!

Leave a Reply

