What’s Up Next

Now that I’ve finished the two sweaters I was working on last month, I’ve cast on for another two.

Summer Swing Jacket

This one’s a very simple cardigan in all stockinette on size 6 needles – the Summer Swing Jacket by Jessica Grzedzinski, in Garnstudio DROPS “Lin”, a 100% linen yarn. The yarn is a beautiful shimmery silver color that’s impossible to photograph well, and while it’s a little harsh to work with (and linty), it makes a beautiful fabric after it’s been washed. Should be good for mindless knitting.

The next one is the Drops 69-18 Ribbed top in Safran. I have some doubts about whether I’ll actually wear this in public, but maybe under a cardigan. Otherise, it will probably only be when I’m sitting out on the patio on a hot day. Or I could always give it to Norma.

Drops Tank

And thank you for all the nice comments on my Retro Wild top. Although I think the colorwork could have been a lot better, I’m not unhappy with it. It looks fine if you aren’t really inspecting the stitches. But if I ever do colorwork with mercerized cotton again, it certainly won’t be a pattern that has as many as 24 (!!!) stitches of the same color in a row. There’s no way I’m going to get that to look good.

Margene, that font of knowledge, also told me why I had so much trouble with the black duplicate stitches. I could tell that the black yarn was thinner and denser than the other colors, which was why it wasn’t covering the stitches below it very well. She said it’s because the black dye is heavier. That makes sense.

Here’s a detail so y’all can see what I’m talking about. Notice the slightly uneven and puckered stitches (I admit it, my stranded tension is not great), and how the black yarn doesn’t really cover the white very well. The gray duplicate stitches look fine. (Clicky for bigger if you feel you must.)

Stitch detail

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What’s Up Next

  1. Carrie says:

    I think the wildness of it will make up for an unevenness, and it will just look like interesting texture. I’m interested to see (lots of interest here today I guess) your linen top. I’ve been reading about commercial cotton production and how hard it is on the environment, and I’ve been thinking more about linen and hemp. Can’t wait to see your jacket.

  2. Carrie says:

    And also – ribbed top? Tres sexy!

  3. It looked awesome on you last night. Love it!

  4. Chris says:

    If anyone’s close enough to inspect the duplicate stitch…….

  5. Cookie says:

    I agree with Chris.

  6. Anne says:

    Wow – linen? I thought it was silk, or maybe bamboo. That’s going to be beautiful.

  7. margene says:

    It’s a wowzer of a sweater and uneven stitches do not distract in any way. They look part of the design!

  8. Stacey says:

    How many NaNoSweMoDoDec-acrazy sweaters are you knitting at the same time?

  9. Nora says:

    Yep – design feature. I think it looks great, and while I don’t envy your hands knitting the linen, that will be very pretty!

  10. Carrie K says:

    Pretty! The linen should age really well, the tank will be perfect for the summer.

  11. elizabeth says:

    Can’t wait to see how your summer swing jacket comes out – it’s in my queue too!

  12. Norma says:

    That sexy top will look FAB on you! But if you MUST throw it my way, I probably won’t argue. 😀

  13. Laurie says:

    Few will be inspecting you that closely. I hope.

    That top will be perfect for under something..jackety, etc.

Leave a Reply

