Holy Geyser, Batman!

In honor of World Wide Knit in Public day, Mother Nature decided to give us a violent storm this afternoon.

Heading home from my LYS, I was greeted with flooded intersections everywhere. Two blocks from my house, I encountered this 2-foot geyser in my lane:

Geyser in street

A block closer, and there was another, smaller one. (It’s in front of the cars at the light, or you’d be able to see it in the photo.)

My street was a half-block further, and had several police cars scattered nearby. Fortunately no geyser, but the intersection was flooded to about 1 foot deep.

Flooded Intersection

I don’t know if it was just flash flooding from the storm, or if there was a broken water main, but there sure was a lot of water. Fortunately, the street has a slight rise before you get to my house, so we were out of the flood.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Holy Geyser, Batman!

  1. Chris says:

    Yikes! I remember a torrential downpour here in which the storm sewer openings turned into geysers. It was very alarming!

  2. Monica says:

    East High’s track is under water. There was a canoe out on the new pond there when I drove by it today. Crazy!

  3. margene says:

    I left an hour after you and I still saw water bubbling from the water mains. It was an amazing storm!! Glad you’re dry!

  4. Stacey says:

    Yikes! Good thing about your street. Glad you made it home .ok.

  5. Carrie says:

    WOW! When we have a big storm it looks like that. I love it. Of course, I too live on a little hill. I suspect I wouldn’t like it so much if I lived down the hill a bit…

  6. susan says:

    Oh, man, you barely escaped Shelley’s fate!

  7. Carrie K says:

    Yikes! That’s a lot of water.

  8. Nora says:

    That is crazy!!

  9. elizabeth says:

    Wow, you dodged a bullet! Or a geyser!

  10. Cookie says:

    What is going on in Utah?!

  11. Elizabeth in Apex, NC says:

    That looks exactly like the streets in Tampa (where I grew up) after the hurricane backwash hits. Water, water, everywhere, and nary a curb to bump over in your car! (Though no geysers; too bad, would have been fun as a child.)

  12. Cayenne says:

    I agree with Cookie. What is going on here? It’s crazy. I feel like we live in Michigan. I have to crank up my drier, but at least my garden doesn’t need any watering. It is a great time to put in a fence, though, which we hope to do soon, because the ground is nice and wet and easy to dig.

  13. Lani says:

    Oh dear! Glad you’re house (and you) are safe!

  14. JessaLu says:

    Wow! Good to know your house isn’t flooded!

Leave a Reply

