Tiny Tomatoes

As I cleverly continue to distract you from lack of knitting content, let’s have another look at what’s in the garden.

A couple of weeks ago I decided to get a cherry tomato plant of some sort. By then, most of the variety of tomatoes had been pretty picked over, and the only cherry-type tomato I saw at the store was a “Red Robin” tomato. I didn’t know anything about it, but went ahead and got it.

Turns out that it’s a “super dwarf” tomato, which only gets to be 8 to 12″ high. It can be successfully grown in only a 6-10″ pot, and it can even be grown indoors – look how great this one did. Even better, it’s an heirloom tomato (dates prior to 1900 and is not a hybrid or genetically modified).

Now that I know more about it, I wish I’d gotten a couple more. I think I’ll have to try saving some seeds for planting.

Look how wee it is – this is a 10″ pot, and the ruler is 6″. (Oh, look closely at the ruler – knitting content. Sort of.)

Red Robin Tomato

And yes, it even has some little green tomatoes. Hmmm. And an aphid. Must go get the soapy water.

Red Robin Tomato

And after getting zero serviceberries last year due to the birds gobbling them all down before they were ripe, I put birdnetting over the bush this year. Last night I picked a quart of lovely, delicious berries:

Serviceberries

I think I’ll make some scones.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tiny Tomatoes

  1. Cookie says:

    Honey, we all have aphids. They’re a part of life.

    I cannot believe how tiny that plant is! I’m used to massively huge/tall plants. That’s just amazing.

    Love the berries!

  2. Chris says:

    I’m not sure I’ve ever had serviceberries.

  3. Carrie says:

    I’ve never even heard of serviceberries! They look neat though.

  4. Carrie K says:

    I’ve never heard of serviceberries! They look yummy though. Scones are always a good idea.

    Cute tiny tomato. I think that ruler counts for knitting content.

  5. Nora says:

    Your garden is so kicking my garden’s ass. Cute tomato!

  6. margene says:

    Oh yum! Smith has tiny tomatoes on his littlest plant. I almost can’t believe it. The berries will be wonderful in scones. Now, I’ve got to make some scones.

  7. Stacey says:

    Love the tiny plant. I wonder if bird netting will keep the squirrels out of the peach tree next year. /sigh

    Happy Saturday!

  8. Miss T says:

    What a cute tomato plant!

Leave a Reply

