Third Time Lucky?

I’ve been trying to knit something out of the Katia Linen I’ve had in my stash for a while. I only have enough yarn for something sleeveless, or possibly very short-sleeved.

First I was going to make the Avocado top from the Summer 2009 Verena Knitting. It’s a plain stockinette tank with a dropped-stitch yoke. Since I wasn’t really sure how it would work out, I did a provisional cast-on and just started at the armholes where the pattern changes. I figured if it came out OK, I could just knit the stockinette portion down in the round. But I really didn’t like how it was working up, so I ripped it out.

Then I decided on a pullover vest based loosely on Alice. I did a swatch of the lace pattern and thought it looked OK, so I cast on for the back and knit 6 or 8 inches. But again, I just wasn’t feeling the love. It looked more like macrame than lace.

My thoughts kept turning back to my original swatch, and I realized that the yarn was telling me it wanted to be knitted in stockinette. So back to the drawing board Ravelry I went, and after reviewing my options, decided to give the Aleita Shell a try. Interestingly enough, this is actually the pattern I had in mind when I bought the yarn, but then I wasn’t sure I wanted to make it after all. Today I cast on and was able to get a couple of inches knitted. So far, it seems good, although I have some doubts about the cast-on edge. It seems slightly tight even though I cast on loosely with larger needles, and I have some concerns that it will roll – but hopefully after washing it will be OK.

Aleita Shell

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Third Time Lucky?

  1. margene says:

    You made a good choice. That top is nice looking and perfect for linen.

  2. Chris says:

    I like how it looks so far.

  3. Chery says:

    You could try German Twisted Cast On. It is more flexible and might not roll as much.

    I found this using Google:
    http://vodpod.com/watch/1591320-german-twisted-cast-on-with-lucy-neatby

  4. Norma says:

    Seriously, stockinette is THE most wonderful stitch. And linen really doesn’t want to be anything else.

  5. Cookie says:

    Fingers crossed that this is the one!

  6. Sounds like a good idea to me, Cheryl.

  7. Nora says:

    Good luck! It looks pretty so far.

  8. Anne says:

    I agree with Margene – I think the yarn and pattern together will be a winner!

  9. Carrie K says:

    Washing and blocking really do take care of so many things. It does look like you’ve hit the perfect match between yarn and pattern.

  10. Chris says:

    I love this pattern and have thought about making it. It’ll look stunning on you, and the yarn is a good choice.

Leave a Reply

