Too Lazy to Take a Better Picture

But as you can see, I’ve been knitting.

Aleita Shell

This is my Aleita Shell. I’ve got to say, this is a mentally challenging pattern. There are lots of things going on at the same time when you get to the bodice – increases at the side seams, decreases at the neck edge, decreases on both wrong sides and right sides, armhole bindoff and shaping… it’s hard to keep track of it all.

I should have been smarter and charted it all out to begin with, but I was too smug. But then I got to a place where things just didn’t seem to line up right, so I had to chart it out anyway to figure out where the problem was (a decrease where there shouldn’t be one on the left front armhole shaping).  I could just take out the last decrease and call it good, but it’s not really that many rows, so I’ll rip it back.

But otherwise, it’s going pretty well. The pattern has you do the bottom ribbing with a needle 3 sizes smaller than used for the body. Noticing that a lot of people had problems with the hem rolling, I only went down two, and maybe I should only have gone done one. We’ll see after it’s blocked. I’m counting on the linen content of the yarn to make it work.

Although there’s no errata for this pattern that I could find, the instructions tell you to do the slipped stitch edging by slipping purlwise with the yarn in back. As I discovered (and later saw in a bunch of Ravelry projects), you have to slip with the yarn in front when working on the WS. Either this is an error, or I’m wrong about what “with yarn in back” means. If it means “behind the work”, it’s an error. If it means “on the back (wrong side) of the fabric”, then I’ve always misunderstood it.

I’m planning to totally ignore the instructions for the neckband. It has you bind off the neck stitches, then knit a neckband (working upwards on the 3 stitches at each edge of the front), and sew it on, grafting the ends together. The heck with that – I’m going leave the stitches live and do an I-cord edging.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Too Lazy to Take a Better Picture

  1. Cookie says:

    It looks great so far. I hope it’s worth all the effort when you’re done.

  2. Carrie says:

    I’ve always understood yarn-in-front and yarn-in-back to be relative to what you were looking at, not the absolute of the fabric. (that is, the way you thought.)

  3. Stacey says:

    I’ve contemplated that shell and your looks wonderful. I’m just not into fussy right now. 😀

  4. Nora says:

    What Carrie said. It’s looking great so far!

  5. Chris says:

    Oh dear – the dreaded “…while at the same time…”

  6. Miriam says:

    Holy crap, you’re almost done with #12 and we’re not even quite in to July. What are you gonna do for the rest of the year?

  7. Carrie K says:

    It looks great and not nearly as fussy as it sounds. The i-cord edging sounds like not only the easiest solution but a cute finish.

  8. Norma says:

    GEEEEEEZ. woman! You’re a machine! It’s gonna be another winner.

  9. Cayenne says:

    Amen to “the heck with that.” Sew it on? Whatever. I think the I-cord sounds like a really good idea. I’ll be interested to see how it turns out.

  10. margene says:

    Some patterns take more effort than others. The top will be lovely when your finished.

  11. Lani says:

    Wow! That’s gorgeous! (And I still can’t believe how quickly you crank these things out!)

Leave a Reply

