More Garden Stuff

I had my first CSA pickup yesterday. I chose Borski Farms as my CSA this year for a couple of reasons: a single share is small, so it’s just right for supplementing what I have in my own garden, and because it includes fruit as well as veggies. I used a different CSA a few years ago when I lived in a condo and didn’t have a garden, but even a half-share was often much more than I needed.

This is what I got for my first week: Peas, beet greens, garlic, sweet cherries (in the brown bag), and a pot of Italian parsley (I had a choice of basil or parsley).

CSA Week 1

And here’s how my patio (and part of the veggie garden) are looking these days:

Patio and Garden

The garden’s looking a bit happier since it has been less rainy. June tied the record for the most days with measurable rain (the other year was 1967). It wasn’t a record breaker as far as total amount of rain, but it was still four times the normal amount.

Now that things are drying out a little, the basil, peppers, and eggplant are looking much better. On the left in the photo are the green beans – three successive plantings to spread out the harvest. On the right are the bell peppers, eggplant, basil and tomatoes. This definitely looks to be a much better tomato year than last year.

On the menu tonight? Shrimp quiche with sauteed beet greens.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More Garden Stuff

  1. Chris says:

    Hmm. I should’ve had lunch before I read this post. đŸ™‚

  2. Amy says:

    Yum indeed. Your garden looks great.

  3. Carrie K says:

    Beet greens are so delicious. Your yard looks inviting! Glad the rain slowed down for you. No more flooded streets in June, eh?

  4. Carrie says:

    Wow, I’m coming to your house for dinner!

  5. Carole says:

    Dinner sounds yummy! We pick up our CSA every Friday. I’m hoping for peas this week.

  6. margene says:

    A perfect spring/summer harvest! A CSA was a very good idea.

  7. Norma says:

    Yummmmmy. I’ve actually got more than we can keep up with already. What was I thinking????

  8. Miss T says:

    Very nice garden!

Leave a Reply

