Migas

I tried a new recipe the other day – Pioneer Woman’s Migas. I’d never heard of it before I saw the recipe on her blog, but basically it’s a Southwestern/Mexican/Tex-Mex* dish consisting of eggs scrambled with pieces of corn tortillas, cheese, onions, and peppers/chiles/tomatoes whatever. Some people add chorizo.

I whipped some up for us, and it was very tasty. I did have to omit the onions since I live with Mr. “Onions Are the Axis of Evil and Should be Banned From Earth”, but we both gave it a big thumbs up. I did fry up some corn tortillas for the recipe, but I think it would work very well using leftover tortilla chips – especially when you get down to all of the broken pieces at the bottom of the bag. Some recipes call specifically for tortilla chips rather than fresh tortillas.

We’ve dubbed it “Mexican Matzo Brei”.

And as long as you make sure the corn tortillas or chips are gluten-free and have no cross-contamination, it’s a good gluten-free dish, too. (Not a bad idea for making a gluten-free version of matzo brei.)

There are more recipes for migas than you can shake a stick at (now that’s a strange phrase, isn’t it?), but if you’d like to check out a few, you might want to look here, or here.

* In Spain and Portugal, migas is a dish typically made with sauteed day-old bread crumbs, olive oil, garlic, and paprika. Depending on the region, it may also have some sort of meat (chorizo/ham/bacon)  in it. It may be served with eggs, but isn’t typically made with eggs in it like the Tex-Mex version.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Migas

  1. Chris says:

    Mmmm – sounds tasty and something I could eat! Thanks for the gf note. 🙂

  2. margene says:

    We’ll try a version of this weekend!

  3. Lani says:

    I’m totally going to try this out! I love me some Tex-Mex!!!

  4. Nora says:

    Sounds delicious. I do wonder how you can cook for someone who doesn’t eat onions, though!

  5. Carrie K says:

    Sounds yummy. Might even be for dinner tonight.

    Tell you husband he’s being silly. Beets are the Axis Of Evil and Should be Banned From Earth.

  6. Norma says:

    Yum! It sounds fab.

  7. Stacey says:

    Nom, nom! Hmmm. I made a few things for Texas from her site. Everything has been stoooooopendous! Maybe I’ll try the Migas this week.

  8. caroline says:

    They ARE yummy. I had them for the first time at Hell’s Backbone Grill, where I sometimes work. And btw, migas means crumbs in Spanish. Hence the yummy bits at the bottom of the tortilla chip bag.

  9. Miss T says:

    I keep meaning to try migas, and I keep forgetting to do it.

Leave a Reply

