Yarn Suggestions?

Help! I need some yarn suggestions.

I’d like to make an old Vogue Knitting pattern that has cables done in two colors (either using Intarsia or stranded knitting). The original pattern called for Scheepjeswool Superwash Plus. I can’t find any information on it other than what’s in the pattern – it was put up in 50 gram balls of 88 yd/80m, and the gauges listed were 18 st/24 rows in stockinette on US 8 (5mm), or 20 st/26 rows on US 7 (4.5mm), which I’m guessing was probably aran/worsted.

I need to size down the pattern, and I think the best way to do that will be to use a thinner yarn at a tighter gauge. (The pattern is written for only two sizes, 43″ and 48″, but with the same number of stitches for both – just using a different needle size.) I haven’t done any swatching at all yet, but I’m thinking I’ll probably need DK, or possibly even sport weight.

Requirements:

  • DK or sport-weight.
  • Must come in solid black and solid white/off-white.
  • The black dye must be color-fast because of the black/white colorwork.
  • Smooth enough for good cable definition.
  • Can’t be too saggy – needs to hold its shape fairly well since it will be heavy with the cables and colorwork.
  • Reasonably soft, since it’s a pullover and it will be worn against the skin at least on the arms and around the neck. It doesn’t have to be as soft as Cashmere or Merino, but certainly softer than Shetland.
  • Being able to buy it locally would be a big plus, but not required.
  • Preferably not something that will break the bank, since I’m going to need a lot of yarn. But I do want a decent yarn.

Any thoughts?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Yarn Suggestions?

  1. Stacey says:

    How about one of your Drops yarns? I know it’s not local, but you do love it.

    Happy hunting!

  2. Nora says:

    Rowan Cashsoft DK? I don’t know about the color selection, but I think it fits most of your other requirements.

  3. margene says:

    That sounds like a tall order and nothing comes to mind immediately. Does Cascade, Sublime or Rowan have anything that’s right?

  4. joan says:

    I’m with Margene on the Sublime yarns, the dk weight of the merino or the merino/silk/cashmere are terrific. There is also the Berroco Pure Merino dk which is less expensive.

  5. Chris says:

    Alas, I can’t help… Good luck!

  6. Robby says:

    Sorry, I’m completely useless in the yarn suggestion department. But you have piqued my interest in this next project.

  7. shelley says:

    I am doing a cabled baby sweater right now and using Lion Brand Superwash Merino (DK weight). It is very soft and has beautiful stitch definition for the cables. I haven’t tried it in black so I don’t know about color fastness. It does not come in white but the Antique colorway is a soft cream color.

  8. Mission Falls DK superwash? I have no idea if it’s colorfast, I actually had no idea it even existed, but I bought some in Canada. It’s called Mission Falls 136.

    http://www.missionfalls.com/136merino.php

    “A 4 ply 100% Merino Wool spun finer from the same fiber as 1824 Wool and in the same 40 colors. Each 50 gram ball comprises 136 yards of yarn. Recommended gauge is 24 stitches / 32 rows.”

    I have not knit with it yet, I bought three skeins for a colorwork hat. 1824 is so nice and soft, but a little bulky, so I thought this would be a good choice for a new hat for the kid.

  9. Lori says:

    Rowan Calmer? Not wooly – but it might meet the other requirements (except the break the bank part, depending on where you can find it). How about posting a photo of the sweater you’re thinking about? That might help the thought process.

  10. susan says:

    I think I have some of that original yarn in a DK weight. Want me to take a look?

  11. Cookie says:

    No help here. Other than to suggest you go visit Susan.

    Good luck!

  12. Carrie K says:

    Alas, I’m no help either but the other suggestions are pretty educational/interesting.

    What’s the pattern? Issue? Out of idle curiosity.

  13. Carrie says:

    How about one of the Valley Yarns from Webs? I hear good things about them and they do have a wide variety of colors and types.

  14. Lani says:

    Iiinnnteresting! I can’t wait to see how this multi-colored cable thingy works! Unfortunately I can’t help with the yarn choices… but I think many of the other comments sound lovely! (Hullo! Merino/silk/cashmere!! YUM!)

Leave a Reply

