Color Me Cranky

I’ll tell you upfront, this story does not have a happy ending.

I was in the home stretch on my Basic Black cardigan… the newly reknitted third sleeve was finished and ready to be sewn in. I finished the left half of the buttonband, and the sweater was looking really good.

I’d been hoping that I’d have enough yarn from the extra skeins to finish the sweater without having to reuse yarn from the Black Blob of Denial (TM) sleeve. But I ran out of yarn with 2 rows of the right side buttonband to go.

Well, things could be worse. (And unfortunately, they were. But I get ahead of myself.)

I figured I’d rip out the bad sleeve, wind the yarn into hanks, and wash it for reknitting. I’d ripped about 2/3 of the sleeve when my husband came in and asked me what I was doing. As I explained, it hit me.

Have you figured out where this is heading yet?

It wasn’t the bad sleeve I was ripping out. It was my third, perfect sleeve.

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

Well, at that point, there wasn’t much to do except finish ripping out the entire sleeve. I figured if I didn’t, I’d probably end up with an obvious line where I restarted with the reclaimed yarn. Then, of course, I had to rip out the bad sleeve as well.

So, the yarn has been ripped, soaked, and is hanging to dry.

Now I’m left with a problem. How different will the FOURTH sleeve be if I’m using reclaimed superwash yarn? I know the obvious answer is to do a gauge swatch. But those don’t always tell the truth anyway. And by the time I did a large enough swatch to really be useful, I’d have a big chunk of the sleeve knitted.

I guess I shouldn’t have tempted fate by calling my sweater “Lucky Thirteen”.

It’s a good thing I got this badge from Stacey the other day. Because believe me, I’m definitely in the Cranky mode. At warp speed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Color Me Cranky

  1. Nora says:

    Crap!!!!

  2. Carrie says:

    That makes my heart hurt. I’m sorry.

  3. Robby says:

    I would be hopping up and down mad – at myself of course. Here’s hoping you don’t get to lucky or unlucky sleeve 13! ;^)

  4. margene says:

    Is the universe is telling you to frog the whole damn thing?

  5. Norma says:

    It’s enough to make you CRY! Criiiiiiipes!

  6. elizabeth says:

    Gah, that sounds like something I’d do! So sorry!!!

  7. susan says:

    You could always knit both sleeves again with repurposed yarn. Then you know they’d match.

  8. Stacey says:

    scrap 13 and pick a new pattern.

  9. Laurie says:

    havent’ got a lot of new ground to break here other than ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh!

  10. Carrie K says:

    Doesn’t the damn thing just want to be a tank top at this point?

  11. Miss T says:

    There is a reason that sleeves are the spawn of the devil.

  12. Lani says:

    Oh dear! 😦 I think I’m gonna have to agree with Carrie K! I think the thing really wants to be a tank.

Leave a Reply

