FO: Lucky Thirteen

AKA: The Black Blob of DenialTM

AKA: NaKniSweMoDo #13

I think I jinxed this one by optimistically (arrogantly?) calling it “Lucky Thirteen”. But after much trauma with the sleeves, and knitting four of them, I finally finished and am very happy with the outcome. So I guess it ended up being lucky after all.
Basic Black Cardigan

Pattern: Basic Black, by Glenna C.
Yarn: Garnstudio Drops Merino Extra Fine, black,
Needles: US 5 (3.75 mm) and US 4 (3.5 mm)
Size: 35″, but at a slightly larger gauge. Finished sweater measures 36″ at the bust.
Ravelry: Pattern page; Project page

Modifications:

  • Knit the ribbing at the hem and cuffs on the same size needle – only used the smaller needle for the buttonbands.
  • Recalculated the sleeves to adjust for my gauge, and also because I wanted slightly slimmer sleeves than as specified by the pattern.
  • Also to adjust for my gauge difference, I did an extra set of decreases immediately above the ribbing.

This pattern really lives up to its name – it’s a perfect basic cardigan, and a well-written pattern to boot.

I can certainly see more of these in my future, in other colors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to FO: Lucky Thirteen

  1. Cher says:

    Lucky thirteen! yay! It’s awesome! I love the way the sleeves are not to your wrist, and I love the neckline of it. ( sorry, too early and not enough coffee to form coherent sentence. ) It gets my grunt of approval! Awesome!

  2. Chris says:

    AND it looks great! Congrats for persevering. 🙂

  3. Carrie says:

    Oh boy, that looks like the perfect combination of style and comfort. Good on you for sticking with it!

  4. margene says:

    It really is a classic sweater and in black all the more classic. PLUS, it looks fabulous with anything!

  5. Cookie says:

    Woo Hoo!

    It looks wonderful on you. Call it a win!

  6. Nora says:

    That is really cute, Cheryl! I know it gave you trouble, but I think you’ll amortize the pain over many wearings!

  7. Robby says:

    So, you ended up with an LBC (little black cardi), good for you! I can see that baby being worth every moment of headache, you could wear it anywhere. Maybe that sweater will turn out to be lucky if you kept notes for those future versions in other colors.

  8. susan says:

    Looks great. And you’ve figured out the sleeves numbers for me. Thanks!

  9. Norma says:

    Boy, I bet that’d look great on me.

  10. Brenda says:

    Well done! You may have had to knit four sleeves, but the two you ended up with fit perfectly. That’s a very flattering v-neck; I’ll have to look up that pattern!

  11. Lani says:

    Gorgeous! 🙂 You totally whipped those sleeves into shape!

  12. Carrie K says:

    It came out great! After all that, it’s a good thing. You showed it who was boss.

Leave a Reply

