CSA, Week 4

Borski Farms CSA, week 4:

CSA week 4

Four large ears of bi-color corn (yummy – very sweet!), a bag of large apricots (also very sweet!), a big bunch of green onions, and a bag of mixed green and yellow beans.

Not that I needed the beans. I picked two pounds from my garden in the morning. Remind me not to plant so many next year – I’m totally up to my ears in green beans. We have way more than we can eat, and there’s lots more to come.

I considered freezing some, but I’m not really crazy about them frozen.

And I don’t can.

I love pickled green beans, but see previous.

We have, however, been eating lots of green bean casseroles. We started with the World’s Best Green Bean Casserole. And it was pretty darned good. Then we moved on to one of my old favorites.  This is not for the faint of heart – it calls for 1 cup of sour cream and 1/2 pound of Swiss cheese:

Swiss Beans

2 Tablespoon butter
2 teaspoon flour
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 onion, chopped
1 teaspoon sugar
1 1/2 pounds green beans, cooked until tender-crisp and chopped in bite-sized pieces
1 cup sour cream
1/2 pound Swiss cheese, shredded

Saute onions in butter until transparent.  Add all other ingredients except cheese.  Put half of the bean mixture in a buttered baking dish (1 ½ quart).  Top with half the cheese.  Repeat.  Bake at 400 for 20-30 minutes.

By the way, I also tried this recipe for Farfalle with Zucchini a few days ago, using some of last week’s zucchini and yellow squash (I also added some fresh peas and a handful of pine nuts, just because.)

Farfalle with Zucchini

It was reasonably good on its own, though we didn’t think it was exactly outstanding. Both of us agreed, it would be greatly improved by the addition of some shrimp or salmon. As luck would have it, I just happened to have some leftover grilled wild Alaskan salmon in the fridge. So the next day, I flaked it and added it to the pasta for lunch. Now THAT was delicious.

I must learn to be careful when picking green beans in the garden. When I reach for one and it moves, it’s probably not a green bean.

Praying Mantis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to CSA, Week 4

  1. Chris says:

    Mutant walking green bean! Eeek!

  2. margene says:

    Cool! Love the mantis. My mother made a green bean casserole that still makes my hair curl when I think about it.

  3. Carrie says:

    Now that is a green bean casserole I can understand. I might have to try it. I could eat green beans till the cows come home, and since I live in the city, that’s a looooong time. I have never been able to grow them successfully, though.

  4. Norma says:

    I’ve made a slightly modified version of that World’s Best Green Bean Casserole, and loved it. Yours sounds DEADLY (but delicious). I’m still waiting for my beans. I don’t care for them frozen, either — except they work pretty well in a green bean casserole. But then, how many of those are we going to eat in a year? Oh, and soup also.

    That is SOME mantis!!!!

  5. Cookie says:

    Oh my goodness…

    Did you bring the little mantis inside? I wonder if he’d help you eat some of those green beans. ;^)

  6. Robby says:

    We have a couple of summer green bean salads that might come in handy. One is green beans and red potatoes in a viniagrette. The other has green beans, walnuts, craisins and feta, toss in some roast chicken or something and you’d be good to call it dinner. Let me know if you’d like fresh bean recipes. Sorry, no ideas for the mantis.

  7. Lori says:

    I have a really good cold green bean & tomato salad recipe. I’ll scan it and email it to you directly.

  8. Nora says:

    I don’t like it when my vegetables move. Just sayin’. And really, do you need the beans in that recipe at all?? I suppose you do need something to hold up the sour cream and cheese.

  9. Katheirne says:

    I could….teach you to can those beans…

    How many did you plant, anyway? And what kind? I’m trying to figure out what I need to do to have a cannable amount next year.

Leave a Reply

