Cosima Progress

Cosima is progressing, with one step back and two steps forward.

Cosima

After knitting the back piece and the left front, I could see that there was no way it would look like the pattern photo and hang open in the front. (I am CERTAIN that they pinned the cardigan back to make it look that way.) But otherwise, it seemed to fit OK. I pinned back 2″ of the front center edge, to see how that would look – and it looks like I can get much closer to the pattern photo by taking off 2″ on each front piece.

Although that’s removing 4″ from the circumference, it’s not at all the same as if I were to knit the XS size, even though that’s 4″ less than the Small. I don’t want to change the back piece, which fits fine, nor do I want to change the armholes. If I knitted the XS, it would be taking in 2″ at each side seam – which means 2″ off the back as well as off the front, and smaller armscyes. I really want all 4″ to come off just the front. Plus, I’d like to make the neckline smaller, and just knitting the smaller size wouldn’t do that.

I reworked the pattern for the front pieces to take out one of the pattern repeats (14 stitches), but then added 4 stitches back in by adding some extra purl stitches on each side of the lace, so that I would really only be reducing each front by 10 stitches (about 2″). I took the entire excess off the center edge, so that the armhole and shoulder are exactly the same. This will not only give me less overlap in the front, but it will also make the neckline smaller.

I knitted the right front according to my new chart (one oops – I did the lace pattern for the left front instead of the right front), and also knitted a sleeve. After pinning them together, it looks pretty promising, so now I’ll knit the other sleeve and reknit the left front.

For the sleeve, I changed the pattern from the plain reverse stockinette it called for. Instead, I knitted it in stockinette, with the lace panel down the side of the sleeve. I think I will like that much better. (In the photo, the sleeve is blocking wrong side up. Just in case you’re confused.)

Yes, I will have to knit an extra front. But it’s bulky yarn and size 10 needles. It goes fast. Hopefully it will only be a three-front sweater.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cosima Progress

  1. margene says:

    At least the errors have happened after your 12th sweater. Fingers are crossed you’ll end up with something you can wear!

  2. elizabeth says:

    I am impressed at your ingenuity! And very happy for your little fingers that you’re using size 10 needles!

  3. Carrie says:

    Wow, you must really want that sweater! I bet your mods will be just the ticket.

  4. Norma says:

    I hate it when those damn photos are so deceiving. There is one in the booklet I am using for my current knit where they have literally turned up the bottom ribbed (wide) hem, like one would turn up one’s sleeves. Did they really think no one would notice?????? Weird.

    And my very first adult sweater looked really nice and semi-fitted in the photo. Then I realized she was basically lying down. I realized that after my sweater was knit and it was a huge boxy affair. Now I’m totally onto them, and very savvy about this stuff — well, unless they are so good they can fool me. But I’m at least cynical and skeptical to start out with, so I think I’ve got a leg up on them. Maybe.

  5. Cookie says:

    You really are good.

  6. Chris says:

    Oh, I hate it when they do crap like that for the photos. There’s definitely at least one photo like that in the latest IWK.

    Good luck!

  7. Nora says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of work! I admire your determination to make this go the way you want it to.

  8. Anne says:

    I am always impressed with how willing you are to slog through. At that point, I woulda just frogged the entire thing. Can’t wait to see your finished version now!

Leave a Reply

