Garden Update

The tomato plants are five feet tall, and the tomatoes are starting to get ripe. I’ll probably be harvesting my first (Early Girl) ones today.

Tomato plants

I bought a bouganvilla this year, and just set the pot against a trellis. They have to be treated as annuals in this climate, but I thought it might be a nice spot of color. It’s not doing all that well, though – I think the root ball just gets too hot. But it has promise. If I get another one next year, I’ll just plant it directly in the ground.

Bouganvilla

Last year I planted Morning Glory seeds in the same spot. They were lovely, but I hardly ever had the chance to see the blossoms. This year I had a lot of volunteer seedlings – most of which I pulled out. But I did leave a few. Now I wish I’d left more, since we’re often out on the patio in the mornings when they’re blooming.

Morning Glory

Let’s see one of those closer up, shall we? The color in real life is extraordinary. Like a deep purple velvet.

Morning Glory

The term “Morning Glory” tends to strike terror in the hearts of many Utahns. Some look at me in horror when they hear I intentionally planted some. But that’s only because most of them have never seen a real Morning Glory. What they’re thinking of instead are the noxious weeds we call “Wild Morning Glory”,  Convolvulus arvensis (field bindweed). I have plenty of those, too, but after several years of digging, spraying and pulling, at least I feel as if I’m starting to win the battle against them. I’ll never totally win, though, because enough of the neighbors just let them take over their yards, and the seeds will spread.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Garden Update

  1. Chris says:

    Mmm… fresh tomatoes! I love Morning Glories. They are persistent, though – you’ll have “volunteers” for many years.

  2. Stacey says:

    I love me some mornin glories. We’re putting up some fencing over the next year, so I’m hoping I’ll have something to grow a garden against.

  3. Carrie says:

    I always liked the white ones. (In fact, the first several times anyone pointed to a purple one and called it a morning glory I secretly thought they were, um, dummies.) I’m sad to hear they’re weeds. Pretty weeds, at least.

  4. Cayenne says:

    Grrr! Bindweed is the worst, but it is definitely not Morning Glory. Yours are lovely. What a wonderful color. I thought bindweed spread through a collective root and was impossible to get rid of. You have given me some hope.

  5. Laurie says:

    Bindweed is pretty annoying. All these things (bittersweet, kudzu, poison ivy) need persistence. They are never truly gone. That morning glory is lovely. She is (he is?) Grandpa Ott, as I’m sure you know.

  6. susan says:

    I just saw a lovely planting of Morning Glory at the Main Street plaza. They were climbing out of a bed of vinca.

  7. Cookie says:

    Love.

    I have the weed version, too. One day I’ll kill them all. Maybe.

  8. Karen says:

    Oh, those tomato plants look so great. Love your blog! I’ll be back!

  9. Katheirne says:

    Bindweed is a monster, isn’t it? Always going around and strangling things. Morning glories are aggressive, too, but only in a pleasant way. At least around here. I love moonflowers — you should try those sometime too!

  10. Miss T says:

    What a gorgeous shade of purple!

Leave a Reply

