Sapa Bar and Grill

Apologies in advance for the bad camera-phone photos. I should have taken my real camera, and certainly will next time.

Last night my husband and I walked 2 blocks to a new Asian restaurant called Sapa Bar and Grill. The interior was quietly elegant, with Chihuly-esque light fixtures.

Sapa Bar and Grill

The outside courtyard has three ancient Vietnamese houses that were brought here and rebuilt piece by piece. They’re at least 100 years old, and possibly as old as 200. The original food-coloring finish has been replaced with a more weather-resistant finish for our climate. They’re not currently serving meals in the buildings, but they plan to do so next spring.

Vietnamese house

Detail of Vietnamese house

The carvings are lovely, especially in the main (center) building. Even the stone foundations for the stilts are hand carved.

And the food? Delicious! It was obvious that the ingredients were fresh and of good quality. The presentation was lovely. We started off with a crab and shrimp rolls as an appetizer. I had curry with shrimp, while my husband had a seafood dish that I think was called “Baked Dynamite”, in a sweet garlic sauce. Both were excellent. For dessert, we had a light raspberry mousse that went down easily, even though we were already stuffed. We didn’t have any sushi, but their sushi chef is from Los Angeles, and (the owner?) told us he was very good. The sushi bar did look inviting, so we’ll have to try that next time.

It’s obvious that a lot of money and effort went into opening this restaurant, so I hope they’ll be able to make a go of it. We’ll definitely be going back.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sapa Bar and Grill

  1. Cher says:

    The carvings are lovely. I like the light fixtures.

  2. Chris says:

    Wow, the carvings are really cool!

  3. susan says:

    I drive by there every day on the way home from work and it’s been interesting to watch them construct it. I’m dying to try the food.

  4. Stacey says:

    How cool! Stop making me want to come there!

  5. Anne says:

    Looks like a winner!

  6. Cookie says:

    Looks and sounds wonderful!

  7. Norma says:

    mmmmm, and I’m sitting here wishing I had someplace interesting to go. I’m boooooooorrrrrrred.

  8. margene says:

    Ooo, sounds like a must go!

Leave a Reply

