How Stupid am I?

As if the last two sweaters didn’t have enough issues, here I am, starting another one that is a total crap shoot.

I’ve started Nell from Kim Hargreave’s book “Amber – A Winter Gathering“.

So what’s the problem? Take a look at the schematic on that first link. The smallest size (XS) is supposed to fit bust size 32”. But according to the schematic, the back piece measures 23.5″ across. That’s 47″ around – 15″ of positive ease. The size “to fit” bust size 36″ (M) – the closest to my actual bust size – is 51″ in circumference. Even if I knit the XS size, it’s 11 to 12″ positive ease.

Now clearly it’s shown as a very oversized cardigan on the girl in the hat. But it doesn’t look nearly that oversized on the blond model. So what’s up?

Once again, I bought the yarn before bothering to study the pattern. I bought some Cascade 128, which I figured would knit up at pretty much the same gauge as the Rowan Classic Cashsoft Chunky. My gauge swatch was pretty much right on target for the pattern gauge (which is only given for stockinette, not for the actual stitch pattern).

I could have done some swatching with the pattern stitches to see what my actual gauge would be, but it would have to be a pretty large swatch to really get an accurate idea. Starting a sleeve would probably be a good idea, as it could be a large swatch, but I’m not sure that I want to knit the big cable on it. I might leave the sleeves plain, or just use the smaller cable. I suppose I could also have started one of the front pieces. But did I? Of course not. I just plunged in and started the back, using smaller needles than specified.  The pattern calls for 7 mm, which is between US 10.5 and US 11. Not having that size, and since I tend to knit on the loose side anyway, I swatched with US 10.5 and got gauge. I didn’t bother with a second swatch (what would it tell me?), so I’m just going ahead and knitting the XS size with US 10’s (6mm), and if it has to be ripped out, then so be it.

Nell

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to How Stupid am I?

  1. Chris says:

    Um… I think you just like challenging yourself more than the average knitter. Plus, your frustration quotient must be higher than mine… 😉

  2. Stacey says:

    Living la vida loca? 😀 Like we should expect anything else from you?

    Happy weekend and may your plans work out with no ripping!

  3. Nora says:

    After your last performance, I have no doubt you’ll work your magic on this one, too!

  4. You’ll pull it off.

    Nice color. I’ve never heard of Cascade 128. I’m assuming 128 yards in 100 grams?

  5. margene says:

    You are a glutton for punishment, but you always pull out of the problem with ease and style.

  6. Carrie says:

    I bet it will be the most comfortable sweater ever when you are done, though – think of how you’ll be able to wrap yourself in it and snuggle in.

  7. elizabeth says:

    You’re not stupid, that’s exactly what I would’ve done!

  8. Karen says:

    Oh, but the result will be perfect! I know you can do it! Love the bit you’ve shown us there!

  9. Cookie says:

    You’re not stupid. You enjoy a challenge. Huge difference.

  10. Carrie K says:

    I’m assuming the question is rhetorical? You just like to subdue your knitting and you’re pretty darn good at wrangling it into submission.

  11. Norma says:

    You DEFINITELY do not shy away from a challenge!

  12. Katheirne says:

    You should probably just try to gain, oh, about 12 inches on your actual body. That’s probably easiest.

    Also, I dislike it when patterns only specify gauge in stockinette.

Leave a Reply

